Welcome! Log in or Register

The Black Halo - Kamelot

  • image
£4.32 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Kamelot / Audio CD released 2005-03-14 at Spv

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.08.2008 11:01



      Kamelot's seventh album (2005).

      I don't know what happened after the magnificent 'Epica,' but somehow Kamelot forgot how to be quite as fun, talented and interesting as they had been in previous years. 'The Black Halo' is a fairly solid album, but as a sequel to 'Epica,' based around the second part of Goethe's 'Faust,' it leaves much to be desired. Every song sounds more or less the same, and absent are the cheesy, cheery melodies and choruses that made Kamelot so distinctive, if irritating on occasion.

      The album opens impressively enough with 'March of Mephisto,' wasting no time on a separate introductory track by incorporating it into the song itself, and aside from questionable use of death metal style growling in the chorus, this is a reasonable opener that sets an appropriately dark tone. Unfortunately, the album fails to pick up hereafter, plodding onwards with tedious riffs and a seemingly bored vocal performance from the formerly exuberant Roy S. Khan, only really picking up towards the end with some enjoyable guitar solos in the title track and an upbeat chorus in the finale.

      1. March of Mephisto
      2. When the Lights Are Down
      3. The Haunting (Somewhere in Time)
      4. Soul Society
      5. Interlude I: Dei Gratia
      6. Abandoned
      7. This Pain
      8. Moonlight
      9. Interlude II: Un Assassinio Molto Silenzioso
      10. The Black Halo
      11. Nothing Ever Dies
      12. Memento Mori
      13. Interlude III: Midnight / Twelve Tolls for a New Day
      14. Serenade


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 March Of Mephisto
    2 When The Lights Are Down
    3 Hauting (Somewhere In Time)
    4 Soul Society
    5 Dei Gratia
    6 Abandoned
    7 This Pain
    8 Moonlight
    9 Assassinio Molto Silenzioso
    10 Black Halo
    11 Nothing Ever Dies
    12 Memento Mori
    13 Midnight (Twelve Tolls For A New Day)
    14 Serenade

Products you might be interested in