Welcome! Log in or Register

The Divine Conspiracy - Epica

  • image
£5.34 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Goth / Artist: Epica / Audio CD released 2007-09-10 at Nuclear Blast

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.07.2008 21:25
      Very helpful



      Epica's third album (2007).

      Epica's most recent album is their best by a narrow margin, and comes about as close to perfection as this band could ever hope to achieve, considering its fairly limited scope. Everything here is taken to a further extreme than before, which is ultimately beneficial: the rock instruments are heavier, male and female vocals alternate more than ever, and the orchestration is often dark and ominous as well as light and majestic.

      'The Obsessive Devotion' progresses nicely from its orchestral beginnings to a memorable main orchestral melody backed up by the rock instruments, and 'Menace of Vanity' is a rare occasion of the guitars being shifted to the forefront, with heavier riffs and a more energetic pace that ends up sounding like a better version of Nightwish. 'Death of a Dream' is the album's darkest point, heavy on the death metal growls used to great effect, while 'Sancta Terra' and the traditionally long final song perfect the balance between orchestra and metal. The album's main drawback is the prevalence of dull ballads that slow the pace significantly, but these at least offer another chance to hear Simone Simons' vocals, assuming you're not sick of them by the end of the disc.

      1. Indigo (Prologue)
      2. The Obsessive Devotion
      3. Menace of Vanity
      4. Chasing the Dragon
      5. Never Enough
      6. La'petach chatat rovetz (The Final Embrace)
      7. Death of a Dream (The Embrace That Smothers - Part VII)
      8. Living a Lie (The Embrace That Smothers - Part VIII)
      9. Fools of Damnation (The Embrace That Smothers - Part IX)
      10. Beyond Belief
      11. Safeguard to Paradise
      12. Sancta Terra
      13. The Divine Conspiracy


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Indigo
      2 Obsessive Devotion
      3 Menace Of Vanity
      4 Chasing The Dragon
      5 Never Enough
      6 La'petach Chatat Rovetz
      7 Death Of A Dream
      8 Living A Lie
      9 Fools Of Damnation
      10 Beyond Belief
      11 Safeguard To Paradise
      12 Sancta Terra
      13 Divine Conspiracy

    Products you might be interested in