Welcome! Log in or Register

The First Four Years - Black Flag

  • image
£21.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Hardcore / Artist: Black Flag / Audio CD released 2003-10-13 at Sst

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      23.03.2008 15:05
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Compilation (1983).

      Another compilation released betwixt studio albums, 'The First Four Years' is essentially a repackaging of Black Flag's first three E.P.s 'Nervous Breakdown,' 'Jealous Again' and 'Six Pack,' the single 'Louie, Louie' and a couple of additional songs. While it may be seen as a lazy collection in this regard, it at least offers the fans a chance to hear these songs without having to pay extortionate amounts to do so, especially now the originals have been out of print for so long.

      Despite lasting only twenty-four minutes, this is still of passable length for a punk album and could easily be taken as a full-length release if not for the tell-tale shifting of singers and sound quality at several junctures. Greg Ginn's clunky guitar is the solid driving force that keeps everything together, though interestingly becomes grittier and harsher along with the vocals as the songs continue, and Black Flag's pionerring hardcore punk sound can clearly be heard evolving from more standard Ramones-esque fare in the first four songs through to the experimental aggression of 'Damaged I.'

      This is a more streamlined and less problematic release than its predecessor 'Everything Went Black,' but should only be seen as a supplementary release after the studio albums, though at least saves fans the trouble of tracking down the rare E.P.s.

      1. Nervous Breakdown
      2. Fix Me
      3. I've Had It
      4. Wasted
      5. Jealous Again
      6. Revenge
      7. White Minority
      8. No Values
      9. Clocked In
      10. Six Pack
      11. I've Heard It Before
      12. American Waste
      13. Machine
      14. Louie, Louie
      15. Damaged I


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Nervous Breakdown
      2 Fix Me
      3 I've Had It
      4 Wasted
      5 Jealous Again
      6 Revenge
      7 White Minority
      8 No Values
      9 You Bet We've Got Something Personal Against You
      10 Clocked In
      11 Six Pack
      12 I've Heard It Before
      13 American Waste
      14 Machine
      15 Louie Louie
      16 Damaged I

    Products you might be interested in