Welcome! Log in or Register

The Great Cold Distance - Katatonia

  • image
£11.53 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Katatonia / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2006-03-13 at Peaceville

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.08.2008 13:44
      Very helpful



      Katatonia's seventh album (2006).

      Following the disappointment of 'Viva Emptiness,' Katatonia play it safe with an unadventurous album of slow and steady gothic rock songs, all bearing the exact same structure and often sounding like they want to be Tool, albeit without the artistry and interesting music. It's not a bad album, but there's nothing particularly notable about it either; 'Leaders' has some catchy vocals but is spoiled by a worthless quiet section, 'Increase' has some stoner rock style riffs to help distinguish it somewhat, and every song builds to the same crescendo that sees otherwise pleasant, atmospheric rock songs spoiled by an unnecessary loud finale, something that's particularly irritating in 'My Twin' and 'In the White.'

      I'm glad to hear Katatonia abandoning the youth angst of their previous release, but as of this album, they haven't found anything suitable to replace it with, beyond generic rock in the vein of a duller Anathema.

      1. Leaders
      2. Deliberation
      3. Soil's Song
      4. My Twin
      5. Consternation
      6. Follower
      7. Rusted
      8. Increase
      9. July
      10. In the White
      11. The Itch
      12. Journey Through Pressure


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Leaders
    2 Deliberation
    3 Soil's Song
    4 My Twin
    5 Consternation
    6 Follower
    7 Rusted
    8 Increase
    9 July
    10 In The White
    11 Itch
    12 Journey Through Pressure

Products you might be interested in