Welcome! Log in or Register

The Greatest Hits - Paula Abdul

  • image
£8.87 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Paula Abdul / Audio CD released 2006-10-02 at Virgin

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.07.2009 18:46
      Very helpful



      pleasing pop

      Paula Abdul is best known for her work on American Idol these days, but it was not so many moons ago that the feisty one was carving out her own successful pop career, both here and overseas. This album gathers some of her biggest hits to date.


      I adore the punchy 'Straight Up' which takes no prisoners with the energetic chorus. Paula got a huge hit with this track and it is easy to see why. There is a sufficent funky undercurrent keeping the song ticking along, a curious sexy vibe, thanks to her vocals and all the markings of a solid pop hit, with the catchy hooks.

      Paula teamed up with a cartoon cat for the duet 'Opposites Attract.' The best bit here is the lyrics, as she playfully teases the cat and they have a lyrical showdown with each other. Sassy content meets a lively tune and it is the kind of song which would stand up to repeated listening.

      I also rate 'Vibeology' which is as naughty as the album gets. Paula lets her hair down and delivers some seriously provocative wordplay here. The erotic charge of the record will make your spine tingle. Luckily, the pop streak which runs through it will disguise any naughty goings on!

      When I want to slow things down, I head to 'Rush Rush' which is calming and soothing. Paula's vocals are more hushed here, as she taps into her gentler and more feminine side. She actually sounds fragile and a woman on the edge of reason. One to play when your lover has deserted you.

      The only misfire is the inclusion of a dodgy megamix to pad the album, but 16 tracks will keep you busy and remind you of some pleasing pop gems from an artist you had probably forgotten about!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Straight Up
    2 Cold Hearted
    3 Forever Your Girl
    4 Way That You Love Me
    5 Knocked Out
    6 Opposites Attract - Abdul, Paula & The Wild Pair
    7 Bend Time Back 'Round
    8 Rush Rush
    9 Promise Of A New Day
    10 Blowing Kisses In The Wind
    11 Vibeology
    12 My Love Is For Real - Abdul, Paula & Ofra Haza
    13 Crazy Cool
    14 If I Were Your Girl
    15 Megamix Medley
    16 Crazy Love

Products you might be interested in