Welcome! Log in or Register

The Hits Collection - Volume One - Jay Z

  • image
£3.48 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap / Artist: Jay Z / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2010-11-08 at Mercury

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.08.2012 19:24



      Not for hardcore Jay-Z fans but good for begginers

      Jay-z is a phenomenon. Growing up as a deprived child in a poor part of Brooklyn, New York, Shawn Carter has taken over the hip hop world to become a multi millionaire entrepreneur of world renown. He has launched the careers of legendary artists such a producer Just Blaze (credited with the beat for public service announcement included here) and rapper/producer Kanye West (Izzo (H.O.V.A.)) and holds claim to several classic albums. This is his first greatest hits album and contains his most commercially successful l songs from his first eight solo albums. The glaring flaw in this is that there will never be enough space on one disc to satisfy all of his fans as Jay has dozens of classic songs both in the mainstream and the underground.

      The aforementioned public service announcement is a great place to start such a collection. A firm fan favourite it was part of The Black album, one of Jays best, and, like the majority of the songs included on the cd, is an excellent piece of music. There is not a weak song included but as expected numerous classics have been left off in favour of more mainstream songs. For example the true brilliance of Jay lies in a song like dear summer as opposed to the chart smashing run this town.

      This is a nice collection and is a good introduction for those not into hip hop, but for a casual Jay fan I would suggest buying the black album or the blueprint instead of the hits as they are a better testament to his qualityy as opposed to radio hits.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Public Service Announcement (Interlude)
    2 Run This Town - JAY-Z, Rihanna, Kanye West
    3 03' Bonnie & Clyde - JAY-Z, Beyoncé Knowles
    4 Encore
    5 I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me)
    6 Izzo (H.O.V.A.)
    7 D.O.A. (Death Of Auto-Tune)
    8 99 Problems
    9 Empire State Of Mind - JAY-Z, Alicia Keys
    10 Dirt Off Your Shoulder
    11 Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)
    12 Show Me What You Got
    13 Roc Boys (And The Winner Is)...
    14 Big Pimpin' - JAY-Z, UGK

Products you might be interested in