Welcome! Log in or Register

The Light at the End of the World - My Dying Bride

  • image
£5.46 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death & Black Metal / Artist: My Dying Bride / Audio CD released 2004-01-26 at Peaceville

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.04.2010 12:11
      Very helpful



      Excellent gothic doom from the Yorkshire masters

      After moving away from their raw doom/death roots into the slicker territory of 1996's excellent 'Like Gods of the Sun', before following this up with the failed experiement that 1998's appropriately titled '34.788% Complete', My Dying Bride's 1999 album 'The Light at the End of the World' sees the band return to more traditional gothic doom territory, with the songs mixing gratifyingly chuggy/lethargic doom riffs with despondent middle-eastern tinged melodies. With violinist Martin Walkier having departed to join Cradle of Filth, the songs here employ somewaht cheesy keyboards quite heavily, and whist these are nowhere near as impressive as the excellent violin parts that made previous albums so powerful, they nevertheless possess an endearing charm all of their own.

      The songwriting is consistently strong, the tracks switching fluidly from depressive introspective passages to chunky, lurching, mid-paced chugging parts, whilst Aaron Stainthorpe's vocals remain as alternately guttorally-powerful and convincingly melodramatic as ever. There are some great, characteristically over-the-top lyrics too, with the lyrics (and their delivery) giving the songs an individuality and character that makes the album much more engaging as a whole, one example being 'The Night He Died', in which a character is tormented by thoughts of desolation and revenge after the murder of his lover, his anger building as the song progresses before spilling over into delerious hate-fuelled vengeance.

      "The Light At The End Of The World" arguably signals the beginning of a creative stagnation for the band, and could be percieved as somewhat forumulaic compared with their earlier creative efforts, but the songwriting and chugging/miserable riffs are so convincing that it hardy seems to matter.


      1. She is the Dark 08:26
      2. Edenbeast 11:23
      3. The Night He Died 06:25
      4. The Light At the End of the World 10:36
      5. The Fever Sea 04:05
      6. Into the Lake of Ghosts 07:09
      7. The Isis Script 07:08
      8. Christliar 10:31
      9. Sear Me III 05:26

      Total playing time 01:11:09


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 She is in the dark
    2 Edenbeast
    3 Night he died
    4 Light at the end of the world
    5 Fever sea
    6 Into the lake of ghosts
    7 Isis script
    8 Christliar
    9 Sear me III

Products you might be interested in