Welcome! Log in or Register

Peel Sessions - Bolt Thrower

  • image
£29.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Bolt Thrower / Live / Audio CD released 1991-07-01 at Dutch East India

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.04.2008 00:02
      Very helpful



      Compilation (1991).

      As anyone familiar with Peel Sessions will gather, the twelve tracks on this album are taken from three consecutive sessions on the radio show, each time promoting a different Bolt Thrower studio release with four songs from each. John Peel was a prominent supporter of British death metal bands, and these three sessions catch the band at is very best, with any slight inferiority to the studio albums being more than made up for by the increased energy that comes from a band playing live.

      The first four songs showcase the band's early style where proto-death metal meets hardcore punk, and original vocalist Alan West carries it off with a rasping tone far removed from Karl Willetts' roar on the later sessions. As each Bolt Thrower album was satisfyingly different at this stage in their career (before they settled down and the exact opposite became true), this collection of songs is surprisingly diverse, moving from raw, almost grindcore death metal in the first four to heavier and darker material in the centre, before concluding with the slower monstrosities of the most recent 'War Master' release.

      It's likely that many casual listeners opted to skip stations when this brutal, war-torn noise blasted forth from their car radio, but those who listened to the Peel Sessions in the hope of discovering exciting new home-grown talent would likely be impressed by these angry Warhammer geeks from Coventry. The sound quality is a little fuzzy, especially on the middle tracks, but it's always interesting to hear alternate versions of familiar songs, and fans will be especially pleased at the inclusion of 'Domination,' a song that evidently didn't make it on to 'Realm of Chaos,' perhaps because it sounds the same as all the rest.

      1. Forgotten Existence
      2. Attack in the Aftermath
      3. Psychological Warfare
      4. In Battle There Is No Law
      5. Drowned in Torment
      6. Eternal War
      7. Realm of Chaos
      8. Domination
      9. Destructive Infinity
      10. Warmaster
      11. After Life
      12. Lost Souls Domain


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Forgotten Existence
    2 Attack in the Aftermath
    3 Psychological Warfare
    4 In Battle There Is No Law
    5 Drowned in Torment
    6 Eternal War
    7 Realm of Chaos
    8 Domination
    9 Destructive Infinity
    10 War Master
    11 Afterlife
    12 Lost Souls Domain

Products you might be interested in