Welcome! Log in or Register

The R.e.d. Album - Game

  • image
£4.76 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap / Artist: Game / Audio CD released 2011-08-22 at Polydor

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      19.02.2012 13:53
      Very helpful



      Game's fourth album

      **Background **

      In a nutshell, it took ages for Game to get around to making his fourth album. The LA rapper faced a bag of delays, a bit of label trouble and he even dropped the 'The' out of his stage name. But finally, after a wide few years gap between "L.A.X." and summer 2011, "The R.E.D. Album" hit the streets and was able to get Game's career back up and running. Since the Rap game looked a bit different to the way he left it, Game enters the project with the aim to prove that he's still very much in-demand and he can still pull in the big artists for guest spots.

      *Good Points*

      Game does actually get the big names to get involved. If you're a fan of Drake, Tyler the Creator and Snoop Dogg, it's great to see that they all dive in to feature on the record. It's got its fair share of club tunes and is supplemented by concept tunes (as is found on "Martians vs. Goblins" and "Good Girls Go Bad"). He knows what's needed to fit all criteria (which will keep him in the good books with many) and successfully melts into the mould of a his many guests to keep their fans happy.

      *Bad Points*

      The price to pay for an album which has all the features any 2011 Rap fan could want is a messy release which doesn't quite live up to standards. Other than the obvious plus points, like the "Kernkraft 400"- sampling "Red Nation", the LA rappers finds himself trying to please everyone. This in mind, collabing with indie, alternative-styled MCs like Kendrick Lemar is fair enough. However, it doesn't hold up when he's juxtaposing it with a dream reunion between Snoop and Dre.


      They days, a Rap album which is 21 tracks long (even if some of them are skits) is simply too long. Game pays the toll by providing a release which does everything he's capable of, but not in the most graceful way. It's flawed with lots of skippable tracks. "The R.E.D. Album" is a sonic sprawl which doesn't particularly fit in any one place. So if you come in for the R&B-edge tunes (like "All the Way Gone", you can find them, but you'll be put off by the rawness (like on "Heavy Artillery"). Game's proven that he can make commercially-viable Gangsta Rap work, but you could be fooled by listening to this one.

      Yep, you can find Nelly Furtado, Dr. Dre, Chris Brown, Lloyd, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne and E-40 on the same CD, but who wants all that if you have to skip past three tunes every time you want to find one you're going to enjoy? For the sake of keeping your Game discography complete, feel free to purchase, but if you got it back in August 2011, it's very unlikely that you'll still be listening to it to this day.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Dr. Dre Intro
      2 The City ft. Kendrick Lamar
      3 Drug Test ft. Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg and Sly
      4 Martians Vs Goblins ft. Lil Wayne and Tyler The Creator
      5 Red Nation ft. Lil Wayne
      6 Dr. Dre 1
      7 Good Girls Go Bad ft. Drake
      8 Ricky
      9 The Good, The Bad, The Ugly
      10 Heavy Artillery ft. Rick Ross and Beanie Sigel
      11 Paramedics ft. Young Jeezy
      12 Speakers On Blast ft. Big Boi and E - 40
      13 Hello ft. Lloyd
      14 All The Way Gone ft. Mario and Wale
      15 Pot of Gold ft. Chris Brown
      16 Dr. Dre 2
      17 All I Know
      18 Born In The Trap
      19 Mama Knows ft. Nelly Furtado