Welcome! Log in or Register

The Reaper - Grave Digger

  • image
£12.86 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Speed Metal & Thrash / Artist: Grave Digger / Audio CD released 1996-11-15 at Gun

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.07.2008 19:40
      Very helpful



      Grave Digger's fifth album (1993).

      'The Reaper' is Grave Digger's first album of the 1990s, and their triumphant return after admittedly selling out at the end of the previous decade with a brief stint as glam metal band Digger. Returning to their old moniker and speed metal style, in the vein of Running Wild and Accept, Grave Digger reprise their excellent, fast, shrieking heavy metal sound and even apologise to their fans in the celebratory title track.

      A return to form was a step in the right direction, but it does bring the problem of originality, which this album doesn't concern itself with to any extent. The sound is almost entirely based in Judas Priest of the early 1980s with more than a couple of choruses and guitar riffs directly traceable to the 'Screaming for Vengeance' album (especially in 'Ride On'), but this will only make it more approachable for old-school fans.

      There's some degree of variation with the dark narrative of 'Wedding Day' and acoustic ballad elements of 'And the Devil Plays Piano,' but in contrast to the roaring speed metal elsewhere, these sadly end up sounding boring more than anything.

      1. Tribute to Death
      2. The Reaper
      3. Ride On
      4. Shadows of a Moonless Night
      5. Play Your Game (And Kill)
      6. Wedding Day
      7. Spy of Mas'On
      8. Under My Flag
      9. Fight the Fight
      10. Legion of the Lost (Part II)
      11. And the Devil Plays Piano
      12. Ruler Mr. H
      13. The Madness Continues


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Tribute to Death
    2 Reaper
    3 Ride On
    4 Shadows of a Moonless Night
    5 Play Your Game (And Kill)
    6 Wedding Day
    7 Spy of Mas' On
    8 Under My Flag
    9 Fight the Fight
    10 Legion of the Lost (Pt. 2)
    11 And the Devil Plays Piano
    12 Ruler Mr. H.
    13 Madness Continues

Products you might be interested in