Welcome! Log in or Register

The Ruff Guide To Genre Terrorism - Sonic Boom Six

  • image
£123.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Sonic Boom Six / Audio CD released 2006-07-10 at Deck Cheese

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      29.06.2009 19:03
      Very helpful



      Why are you still here? Go buy the album.

      Sonic boom six, a band who are extremely tanlented and brilliantly unique and who don't get the recognition that they deserve, and especially for this album. You will not find a more refreshing music album of any genre produced in the last ten years. Come to think of it this is one of those albums that trancends genres it has elements of hard rock, punk, ska, hip-hop, dance, even some old school electronica and there are even some indian influences on one track. To be fair I simply cannot do service to the uniqueness of the band by simply listing the some of the genres that they dip into.

      The actuall tracks have something for everyone. The opening track "Do it today" is a mass collection of melody and energy which clearly shows the influence from punk that the band have recieved. Then looking at tracks like "Northen Skies" and "When the sunight comes" have a deffinate elegance and subtilty that is rare to find these days and it provides a pefrect contrast to the heavier more brash tracks of the album. For the hip-hop fan you have the fantastic "All In" which blends a modernistic hip-hop with old school beats and an anouncer clearly taken for a reggea ervre. I could list all the tracks and why they are good and who they would appeal to but it would be an injustice and take to long. One thing you might be expecting from the vast list of influences is for the album to sound disjointed, let me assure you it does not. The entire album is held together with the bands unique liberal view on the modern british condtion, this is one of the reasons that I hold it above a lot of other music today. It's one thing to write excelent music it is another to write excelent music which at the same makes you think about the way of the country at the same time.

      As I have said before, I could keep going on and on but it would be pointless, I'll say one thing got to the SB6 webstie or anyother and buy this album, you will not regret it, trust me.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Do It Today
    2 Apathy Begins At Home
    3 All In - Featuring Coolie Ranx
    4 Piggy In The Middle
    5 For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge
    6 Northern Skies
    7 Bigger Than Punk Rock
    8 Danger! Danger!
    9 Don't Say I Never Warned Ya
    10 Shareena
    11 A People's History Of The Future
    12 Until The Sunlight Comes

Products you might be interested in