Welcome! Log in or Register

The Shadow's Madame - Cadaveria

  • image
£5.04 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Cadaveria / Import / Audio CD released 2004-07-18 at Scarlet

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.04.2008 20:33
      Very helpful



      Cadaveria's first album (2002).

      Cadaveria is the sort-of solo project of singer Cadaveria, after she and drummer Flegias departed Italian symphonic black metal band Opera IX. It's a solo album in the way many solo albums aren't, in that she performs the adequate vocals while it's left up to an overlooked band of more talented performers to carry her along and actually make anything interesting out of it, which thankfully they achieve.

      Opera IX's symphonic style meant that they were never one of the more authentic black metal bands, and this departure only increases the divide. While Cadaveria's vocals are mostly rooted in a harsh rasp, and Flegias still unleashes blast beats on occasion, this could only be termed black metal by those who consider Cradle of Filth or modern Dimmu Borgir to be black metal, and it unashamedly aims for a similar audience.

      The main issue with this debut album is Cadaveria's performance, which is a bit of a shame as that's obviously the thing it's striving to highlight the most. While her rasp is inoffensive, it doesn't have a particular character of its own, certainly nothing that merits naming a band after her, but she performs extensive portions of the album in a more palatable singing style (especially later in 'Spell' and throughout 'Declaration of Spiritual Independence' and 'Black Glory'), and commendably doesn't try to aim for anything too self-consciously feminine.

      There are metal fans out there who find a female singer to be reason enough to track a band down, which I consider pretty ridiculous as it should be more about the overall sound rather than the gender of the person behind the microphone. This is a distinctly average album on all counts, led by Frank Booth's enjoyable but uninspired riffs that mostly maintain a steady rhythm, but one that I find all the more satisfying for not trying to flaunt the female singer. At least, not to the extent of its successors.

      1. Spell
      2. Declaration of Spiritual Independence
      3. In Memory of Shadows' Madame
      4. Circle of Eternal Becoming
      5. The Magic Rebirth
      6. Black Glory
      7. Absolute Vacuum


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Spell
    2 Declaration Of Spiritual Independence
    3 In Memory Of Shadow's Madame
    4 Circle Of Eternal Becoming
    5 Magic Rebirth
    6 Black Glory
    7 Absolute Vacuum

Products you might be interested in