Welcome! Log in or Register

The Spectral Sorrows - Edge Of Sanity

  • image
£8.75 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Edge Of Sanity / Audio CD released 2004-07-18 at Black Mark

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.07.2008 19:57
      Very helpful



      Edge of Sanity's third album (1993).

      'The Spectral Sorrows' is a natural half-way point between the densely progressive and heavy 'Unorthodox' and the more accessible death metal sound of 'Purgatory Afterglow,' and strikes a nice balance between the two. The melodic quotient is increased significantly, from the slow guitar harmonies and atmospheric sections that pervade almost every track to the occasional clean vocals, culminating in the surprising deviation of 'Sacrified,' a gothic rock song that sounds just like Sisters of Mercy. There's also a punk-influenced song in the form of 'Feedin' the Charlatan,' an effective Manowar cover that doesn't ruin the song with growled vocals as most death covers of classic heavy metal tend to, and melodic interludes in the first and last tracks.

      If this is the point at which Edge of Sanity started to move towards a more mainstream sound, it's also the point at which their experiments became less coherent and more prone to failure. There are some excellent moments on this album, memorably the tremolo-picking guitar riffs of 'Darkday' that foreshadow the later sound of Amon Amarth, but a few too many deviations from the death metal sound to allow for complete credibility, particularly with the upbeat drums that often don't suit the songs at all.

      1. The Spectral Sorrows
      2. Darkday
      3. Livin' Hell
      4. Lost
      5. The Masque
      6. Blood of My Enemies (Manowar cover)
      7. Jesus Cries
      8. Across the Fields of Forever
      9. On the Other Side
      10. Sacrified
      11. Waiting to Die
      12. Feedin' the Charlatan
      13. A Serenade for the Dead


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Spectral Sorrows [Instrumental]
      2 Darkday
      3 Livin' Hell
      4 Lost
      5 Masque
      6 Blood of My Enemies
      7 Jesus Cries
      8 Across the Fields of Forever
      9 On the Other Side
      10 Sacrificed
      11 Waiting to Die
      12 Feedin' the Charlatan
      13 Serenade for the Dead [Instrumental]

    Products you might be interested in