Welcome! Log in or Register

The Ultimate Collection - Ace of Base

  • image
£24.93 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop - Dance Pop / Artist: Ace of Base / Box set / Audio CD released 2005-08-15 at Universal

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.08.2009 12:59
      Very helpful



      good value

      Now here we have the so called Ultimate Collection from one of Sweden's most successful exports. Ace Of Base are often regarded as a modern day Abba. Two blokes who do the production and two fine looking women who provide the vocals.

      There is a dodgy Banghra remix of 'All That She Wants' to kick start the album, I would have thought that the original would have been a better bet. The remix kind of works and will conjure up images of Indian nights and long hot summers.

      A suspect dub version of 'The Sign' is rendered useless as it lacks any of the oomph of the original, a rather pointless addition to the album. I was pleased to see a club remix of 'Wheel Of Fortune' though, which takes the original and makes it a bit longer with a dancefloor edge. There are some delightful chord shifts in here and a sinister riff!

      'Life Is A Flower' is a must-hear, with a glorious melodic chorus and some free spirited vocals which are all about peace and good will to your fellow man.

      Check out their take on 'Cruel Summer' which works a treat, all big flourishes and a storming eurobeat to work out to! On a similar tip, 'Travel To Romantis' has a delicious euro feel to it with sweeping synths and superb harmonies from Jenny and Linn.

      By the time you hit disc two, be sure to check out their sixties Grease pastiche 'Donnie' and the Billy Ocean rip off 'Always Have Always Will' which has some truly shocking key changes towards the end.

      I do not rate 'C'est La Vie' which is bland and has a dirgey melody, far too miserable for my liking, though much better is the warming 'Beautiful Morning' with awe inspiring lyrics and a sense of freshness about it.

      The third disc concludes the fun with some bonus remixes and a megamix which seems quite a laboured effort. But for value for money you do get loads of hits here and probably at least one version of all the essential hits. There are 27 tracks in total, so check it out!


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 All That She Wants [Banghra Version]
      2 Wheel of Fortune [Original Club Mix]
      3 Happy Nation [Remix]
      4 Sign [Dub Version]
      5 Waiting for Magic
      6 Don't Turn Around [Stretch Version]
      7 Living in Danger
      8 Lucky Love [Armand's 'British Nites' Remix]
      9 Beautiful Life
      10 Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry
      11 My Déjà Vu
      12 Perfect World
      13 Life Is a Flower
      14 Cruel Summer [Big Bonus Mix]

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Donnie
      2 Travel to Romantis
      3 Always Have, Always Will
      4 Everytime It Rains
      5 Cecilia
      6 Tokyo Girl
      7 C'est la Vie
      8 Hello Hello
      9 Love in December
      10 Beautiful Morning
      11 Unspeakable
      12 Juvenile
      13 Capo
      14 What's the Name of the Game

      Disc #3 Tracklisting
      1 Wheel of Fortune [Original Club Mix][*]
      2 My Mind [Mindless Mix][*]
      3 All That She Wants [Banghra Version][*]
      4 Happy Nation [Remix][*]
      5 Sign [Dub Version][*]
      6 Don't Turn Around [Stretch Version][*]
      7 Lucky Love [Armand's 'British Nites' Remix][*]
      8 Cruel Summer [Big Bonus Mix][*]
      9 Megamix: Wheel of Fortune/All That She Wants/Don't Turn Around/The Sign

    Products you might be interested in