Welcome! Log in or Register

The Very Best Of - Brother Beyond

  • image
£47.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Brother Beyond / Audio CD released 2005-05-23 at EMI Gold

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      18.07.2009 15:31
      Very helpful




      Brother Beyond are one of those forgotten boy bands from the eighties. This album gathers some of their bigger hits and lets those memories come flooding back.

      Who are they:

      Teen marketed boy group, produced by Stock Aitken and Waterman. They had cheerful upbeat pop songs.


      'The Harder I Try' is the opening song and is their biggest hit single. It has a really brisk drum beat and some gloriously camp vocals from lead singer Nathan. The chorus is hooky, but towards the end of the song it does tend to repeat the chorus over and over and could have been trimmed by about thirty seconds.

      On a similar tip, 'He Aint No Competition' is another fruity pop fest with a bright and alert sounding chorus. The vocals sound processed, but no less so than Jason Donovan at the time.

      I quite enjoy 'Can You Keep A Secret' which has an addictive chorus and a wonderful uplifting melody. It was a hit for them, but should have done better. It is the kind of song which would work well in an eighties disco alongside Sonia and Sinitta.

      I am less fond of 'When Will I See You Again' which is too bleak and fails to ignite the senses. I was also disappointed that the rest of the group are not given the opportunity to sing more. Nathan's vocals dominate the recording and though he sings well, you get the feeling a Take That approach of vocal sharing would have added more depth.

      The package is completed by some semi arty cover artwork, though it is nothing to get excited over. I recommend downloading the lead singles, the rest follows suit with a mix of pop and ballads, but it will not leave a lasting impression


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Harder I Try
      2 He Ain't No Competition
      3 Be My Twin
      4 Can You Keep A Secret
      5 How Many Times
      6 Chain Gang Smile
      7 Drive On
      8 When Will I See You Again
      9 Trust
      10 Girl I Used To Know
      11 I Should Have Lied
      12 Act For Love
      13 Harder I Try
      14 Drive On
      15 Be My Twin
      16 Can You Keep A Secret
      17 He Ain't No Competition

    Products you might be interested in