Welcome! Log in or Register

The Very Best Of Ub40 1980-2000 - UB40

  • image
£14.87 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
3 Reviews

Genre: Reggae / Artist: UB40 / Import / Audio CD released at Phantom Sound & Vision

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    3 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.02.2012 16:39



      A fantastic album from start to finish

      I bought this album after hearing it played in a friend's car. I'm not normally into reggae but UB40 stand out to me. Ali is a fantasic frontman and a fantastic performer too.

      This album contains most of their greatest and most popular hits. My favourite UB40 song by a mile has to be I Can't Help Falling In Love With You. This is a beautiful love song from 1993 and it's still played on the music channels pretty much all the time. It's always featured in love song countdowns and it's been covered SO many times, although you can't beat the original. It's a great song and one of my favourite songs of all time. Another great song on here is I Got You Babe. This is a great pop song with a touch of Ska. It's a duet between Ali and Chrissie Hynde and it's another song that gets played a lot on the music channels. The album DOES contain memorable hits but there were a few on here that I wasn't all that familiar with. Still, it's a great introduction to UB40, especially if you don't own any of their albums like myself. There's not a bad song on it and it's great for parties as you can really sing a long to the songs!

      I would recommend this album to people who only know a few UB40 songs and would like to hear a few more before buying into their back catalogue.

      A fantasic greatest hits compilation from the great UB40.

      A must have!


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      05.02.2009 21:41
      Very helpful



      great collection

      I have always liked Birmingham based UB40, managing to take the reggae world by storm with their gentle melodies, inspiring and often controversial lyrics and soulful vocals, courtesy of Ali Campbell.

      This album:

      Gathers some of their biggest hits from 1980 up the year 2000. I think it is fair to say that they have not done much of significance since 2000, despite continuing to tour and replacing Ali with Maxi Priest as the lead singer.

      Top tracks:

      One of the best is the soothing 'Kingston Town' where Ali's vocals are in their prime. His voice wraps beauitfully around the lyrics and the song transports you to exotic planes. I also love 'Red Red Wine' which most people know, it is a song to play at the end of the day when you about to slump into an armchair, but also it is the kind of track you could have a slow dance to at the end of the night. Check out 'I Got You Babe' with Chrissie Hynde, her manly vocals contrast well with Ali's high pitched tones and the record comes across with real integrity and emotion.


      A fine collection, which charts their early years, when the lyrics perhaps had more bite, before they started getting more chart friendly. The smooth reggae beats are mellow and easy on the ear and li's vocals are always unique and captivating. If you want a UB40 album to break you into the group, this could well be it.



      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      04.01.2001 05:00
      Very helpful



      This album is the culmination of over twenty years of work from probably the hardest working band in the world. Being a Brummie myself, i suppose i have a biased opinion, but i have been a fan of these guys since i was ten years old and this is a great way to re-live some of my youth. The tracks on this CD cover nearly all of their hits from 'Food for thought' back in 1980 right up to 'light my fire' released in 2000. The track list is as follows, 1 - One in Ten - 1981 - 'A statistical reminder of a world that dosn't care' 2 - Red Red Wine - 1983 - The bands first number one 3 - Kingston Town - 1989 - Ballady, immigrant longing for home 4 - Higher Ground - 1993 - Upbeat love song 5 - King - 1980 - Tribute to Martin Luther King 6 - Cherry Oh Baby - 1983 - Popy dance song, heavy base line 7 - I Got You Babe - 1985 - Second number one, collaborating with the lady that got them discovered by inviting them on tour back in 1980, Chrissie Hynde 8 - Come Back Darling - 1998 - Heavy base love song 9 - The Earth Dies Screaming - 1980 - Very deep and emotional track 10 - If It Happens Again - 1984 - Upbeat tempo 11 - Don't Break My Heart - 1985 - Passionate slow dancer 12 - Can't Help Falling In Love - 1993 - Elvis re-working for the film 'Sliver' 13 - Watchdogs - 1986 - Medium tempo pop/ballad 14 - Tell Me Is It True - 1997 - Upbeat ballad 15 - Rat In Mi Kitchen - 1986 - Major anthem, rocked the USSR, gotta be played 'LOUD' 16 - Homely Girl - 1989 - Upbeat story of ugly duckling turned swan 17 - Light My Fire - 2000 - Doors re-working 18 - Bring Me Your Cup - 1993 - Upbeat ballad 19 - Food For Thought - 1980 - First top ten hit (of 18 to date), heavy social comment 20 - Sing Our Own Song - 1986 - Another major anthem, play it loud and sing along The cover of the Album is a montage of the bands albums released ov
      er the years, from which the tracks are taken.There is a small biography of the band included in the sleeve, which gives you a rough idea of how popular they are worldwide. You can blab about 'U2' and 'The Beatles,' but UB40 played to an estimated 1 Billion viewers in 1999 when they played in India. There is also portraits of the band, along with a track listing and credits. Overall a very good collection of the best of this band, even if you are not a great fan of UB40, it is worth having in your collection as you will probably remember more than you think when you listen to it. I look forward to the next collection in 2020


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Red Red Wine
      2 Kingston Town
      3 Higher Ground
      4 King
      5 Cherry Oh Baby
      6 I Got You Babe - Chrissie Hynde, UB40,
      7 Come Back Darling
      8 One in Ten - UB40
      9 Earth Dies Screaming
      10 Watchdogs
      11 Don't Break My Heart
      12 Can't Help Falling in Love
      13 Sing Our Own Song
      14 Tell Me Is It True
      15 Rat in Mi Kitchen
      16 Bring Me Your Cup
      17 Light My Fire
      18 If It Happens Again
      19 Food for Thought
      20 Many Rivers to Cross

    Products you might be interested in