Welcome! Log in or Register

The Wildhearts Must Be Destroyed - Wildhearts

  • image
£8.45 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews
  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.10.2008 19:02
      Very helpful



      Perfect summer driving album

      The Wildhearts Must Be Destroyed surprised me when it was released. Although it's predecessor (Endless, Nameless) was a good five years in the past, I was still expecting my ears to be assaulted with a raging ball of audio fury. However, this album is a much more light-hearted affair. It leaves your CD player grinning from speaker to speaker. It may have a very mainstream, Americana, poppy feel to it, but it doesn't really matter because the songs are so good.

      Opener Nexus Icon slaps you in the face and you think 'oh boy, here we go!' but after that everything calms down and the songs are sugar-coated and full of summer sunshine. I ALWAYS have this album on in the car through the summer months. It is SO feel good, I love it. It's Peace and Love done Wildhearts style: BIG riffs and singalong choruses, quirky lyrics and endless harmonies.
      Perfect pop metal singles like Vanilla Radio and So Into You are to be found on this album. But, to be honest, pretty much every song could've been a single. It's like listening to a 'best of' album. "You don't get no view like you do on the TOP OF THE WORLD" ends the album, and it sums it up perfectly. Happy blokes making happy music for happy listeners :-)

      Justin Hawkins of The Darkness fame even chirps up for a cameo appearance. I think of this album in a similar way to Permission To Land actually. A proper album, not too short, not too long. 3 to 4 minute classic pop/rock/metal songs. All catchy, all fun, all good.

      This is NOT a challenging, groundbreaking album. The Wildhearts are NOT experimenting and pushing boundaries like they have been known to. It's just plain, simple, no frills bloody good music.

      1 - Nexus Icon
      2 - Only Love
      3 - Someone That Won't Let Me Go
      4 - Vanilla Radio
      5 - One Love, One Life, One Girl
      6 - Get Your Groove on
      7 - So Into You
      8 - There's Only One Hell
      9 - It's All Up to Me
      10 - Out from the Inside
      11 - Top of the World


      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        21.01.2008 23:43



        good album much too much american influence

        For such a strong and hard hitting classic british rock band that have always had such a powerful attitude, this album comes as somewhat a bit of a surprise. Overall, the album has a very happy american feel to it aswell as much more lyrics about being happy than usual. The album does end with a classic wildhearts style track though called There's Only One Hell. This album is not as heavy as you would expect from the wildhearts and has a very melodic and catchy feel to it. The first track, Nexus Icon, has to be the most powerful which makes a very strong initial impact before moving onto softer songs such as 'It's Only Love'. This is certainly not a bad album at all and contains some very memorable tracks, but for the wildhearts it not that much better than average. It's definitely still worth having a copy if your a die hard fan.


        Login or register to add comments

    Products you might be interested in