Welcome! Log in or Register

Them - King Diamond

  • image
£6.72 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: King Diamond / Original recording remastered / Audio CD released 2000-08-14 at Roadrunner

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.09.2008 23:11
      Very helpful



      King Diamond's third album (1988).

      Another great entry in the highly consistent King Diamond discography, "Them" is one of the band's defining works, and easily the peak of their silliness, however tongue-in-cheek it's intended to be. A concept album that wants to be a cheap horror film, "Them" tells the tale of a grandma's return home from a mental asylum, her reunion with the ghosts in the attic and the initiation of her young grandson to share her fate. There's a lot of stuff about drinking tea as well, with track four possessing the only tea-based heavy metal chorus that I'm aware of.

      It's clearly ridiculous, and however much the band and King Diamond himself throw themselves into the whole horror movie gimmick, it's obvious that this isn't as serious a work as the previous 'Abigail.' Even the intro pokes fun at itself, and the album's biggest downfall is that it does tend to favour the concept over the music itself as the album draws to a close, with too many interludes in place of full-length songs. This isn't the case for the first half of the album though, which features many classic King Diamond songs but which is clearly dominated by the excellent 'Welcome Home,' a song that features King Diamond and Andy LaRoque at their very best, and never gets old.

      1. Out From the Asylum
      2. Welcome Home
      3. The Invisible Guests
      4. Tea
      5. Mother's Getting Weaker
      6. Bye, Bye Missy
      7. A Broken Spell
      8. The Accusation Chair
      9. "Them"
      10. Twilight Symphony
      11. Coming Home
      12. Phone Call


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Out From The Asylum
    2 Welcome Home
    3 Invisible Guests
    4 Tea
    5 Mother's Getting Weaker
    6 Bye Bye Missy
    7 Broken Spell
    8 Accusation Chair
    9 Them
    10 Twilght Symphony
    11 Coming Home
    12 Phone Call
    13 Invisible Guests
    14 Bye Bye Missy

Products you might be interested in