Welcome! Log in or Register

This Might Be The Day - MJG

  • image
£7.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap - Gangsta & Hardcore / Artist: MJG / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2008-07-15 at 404

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.10.2009 14:45
      Very helpful



      MJG's third solo album

      "This Might Be The Day" was released as the second of two solo album from MJG (of the Memphis, Tennessee Rap duo 8Ball & MJG) in 2008, and was the third of three he had done without his partner in rhyme. It finds him showing how well he can set his work apart from their work together as the rapper (who started releasing officially in 1993) participates in producing this one with T-Mack.

      1. "This Might Be The Day" (Intro)

      2. "Shades"

      Here he drops into the heavy single that straight kills the album off as you see that here comes directly off the introduction into the first single and gives the listeners an opportunity to understand why exactly you never see him wearing shades on to block out the haters as he uses a hardcore screwed hook that gives you all you really need to know about his reasons for it and why it represents who he is.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Breathe"

      Here things are kept rolling nicely for him to give him a chance to get into the right state of mind to deliver yet more banging material that will do the job that he intends it to and so here you see that he takes on the Crunk style of production with a dark, grungy feel that pulls you down massively and form here he comes with a few of his standards lines before coming through with more of his, choppy, barking rhymes that you tend t associate with his music.

      **Five Stars**

      4. "Can't Get Rid Of Me"

      I can't say that this one is anything near the sort of thing that you get from the two tracks before it here as you see that here you get a tune that I felt was slightly annoying in the way that you get the hook created and he comes out with something that completely contrasts from he raw flows which break these up. I felt that as a result it can't be see as anything more than an average one for its inconsistencies.

      **Three Stars**

      5. "Busted" (Lude)

      6. "What Would You Do"

      After a short interlude you see that he gets back down to things here as he keeps it all down to the Dirty South style with the style of the beats and the way that he comes with explicit rhymes that have been rooted in the southern scene since it began with the 2 Live Crew's material in the mid eighties. Here you see 8Ball assisting him to show that they are nowhere near splitting as they rhyme about what would be done if they found their girls cheating.

      **Four Stars**

      7. "Mack Life"

      T-Mack, the man behind most of the production on this one, is seen to do some of the rhymes on this one as you see that he comes out with some pretty fresh rhymes that he felt he should get in on since the theme of it is right in line with what he is about, and MJG shows how things should be done by leading the way for him. It is another heavy one, hits hard on the thing as most appear to here.

      **Four Stars**

      8. "Jungle"

      This track was just too much for me as you see MJG taking over with the production and he takes you right into his world wit the sorts of low=paced, funky material that his ends of the Dirty South were about before the likes of Ludacris, Three 6 Mafia and Lil' Jon changed it for all others as he takes lines from Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five's "The Message" and relates it to the weed he smokes.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Roll Wit' Me"

      You see that he isn't quite capable of reaching the same standard s with this one as the last one as you find that with this one there is a bit of a change to things as T-Mack returns and he even comes to sing on the chorus to this one to assist him as he takes things towards the clubs to get down to it al and go hard like no other Dirty South Rap veterans would be capable of (when you look at the others who still remain in the game).

      **Four Stars**

      10. "Gangsta Gangsta"

      Alfamega (the rapper signed to T.I.'s Grand Hustle label until it was found out that he was a former Police Informant) comes to rap alongside the Memphis rapper here and you see that this Gangsta Rap cut goes harder than almost any other that you get on the thing as he shows that although he has done a couple of club joints, he is really about that street material and does it in a hardcore manner.

      **Five Stars**

      11. "Dangerous"

      Wit this one you get 8Ball coming to reunite with the rapier gain and in this case you see that it occurs as you see a massive change in the style of the beats as MJG gets on top of them and comes out with more of the groovy stuff as he does some more laid-back material and raps about a certain girl in his life. The Atlanta Trap-Rap artist Gucci mane also gets on the thing and I felt that it made for a well-rounded cut.

      **Five Stars**

      12. "Big Time"

      Slim (of the Bad Boy R&B group 112) comes on this one to bring his light vocals to the table on a track that I felt really didn't suit the way that the album was going as it seemed far too soppy when you consider what the rapper is really about and how he has come over the years. It just wasn't my thing and although he gets some decent beats, it isn't enough to counteract the fact that he raps in a manner that just isn't like what he's about.

      **Two Stars**

      13. "It's Been A Long Time"

      He ends the album off with another 8Ball & MJG track and you see that it really rounds it off nicely in the way that it forces you to cool down through the way he looks over a few of the things he has done over the years with 8Ball on his side and contributes on the beats to show how he is able to effectively show this through the way that he can construct the beats in line with the themes of the track (even when its not too common).

      **Four Stars**

      This is a decent album from MJG and one that I felt was clearly more impressive than the first 2008 album that he brought, but nothing really that special when you consider who else dropped records during that year. It shows that though he may still repeat the same couple of lines in each track, he still has the skills to come up with the goods and impress in spite of his lengthy stay in the game.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 This Might Be the Day - MJG
      2 Shades - MJG
      3 Breathe - MJG
      4 Can't Get Rid of Me - MJG
      5 Busted - MJG
      6 What Would You Do - 8Ball, MJG
      7 Mack Life - MJG, T-Mack,
      8 Jungle - GC, MJG
      9 Roll Wit Me - MJG
      10 Gangsta Gangsta - Alfamega, MJG
      11 Dangerous - 8Ball, Gucci Mane, MJG
      12 Big Time - MJG, , Slim
      13 It's Been So Long - 8Ball, MJG

    Products you might be interested in