Welcome! Log in or Register

This Note's For You - Neil Young

  • image
£3.50 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Folk Rock / Artist: Neil Young / Audio CD released 1988-04-18 at Reprise

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      25.02.2010 01:24
      Very helpful



      thoroughly mediocre

      Yet another Neil Young 1980's genre experiment, even if this isn't as dire as previous efforts, it's still a long way from the greatness Young seems to effortlessly attain on occasion. It's a kind of R&B/Blues hybrid with a tinge of rock thrown in, aided by a 6 piece horn section.

      Young's typical sense of humour is present & helps things along, & while he sounds more involved here than on much of his 80's output, there's still some essential ingredients missing. Much of the material here is mediocre, & while the title track is the stand-out, it is a track better remembered for it's award winning music video, which featured Young lambasting corporate rock in all it's forms, & pretty successfully.

      Yet Young has set himself very high standards in the past, standards to which an album like this will never reach. 'Life in the City' is probably the only other memorable cut here, & much of the rest is made up of forgettable filler. This is by no means his worst release of the 80's, but it did little to educate the MTV generation on precisely what it was that made Neil Young great in the 70's.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Ten Men Workin'
    2 This Note's For You
    3 Coupe De Ville
    4 Life In The City
    5 Twilight
    6 Married Man
    7 Sunny Inside
    8 Can't Believe Your Lyin'
    9 Hey Hey (Baby)
    10 One Thing