Welcome! Log in or Register

Too Blind To See It - Kym Sims

  • image
£7.00 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Soul / Artist: Kym Sims / Audio CD released 1992-04-01 at I.D.

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.10.2009 19:21
      Very helpful



      not too bad dance

      Most people might remember Kym Sims for her shockingly addictive single 'Too Blind To See It,' which gave her a top ten hit. It is perhaps not surprising that the album has the same name!

      You get ten songs on here, so not loads of tracks. The opener is the dance anthem 'Too Bind To See It' which has a juicy riff right from the outset to get your teeth into. The song capitalises on the sound of American house music, utilising a wicked piano with a bouncy bass and a soulful vocal from Kym. The song would appeal to fans of Inner City or anyone who liked early nineties dance music with a bit of edge to it.

      'Take My Advice' uses a similar formula, the beat is nearly identical to the first song, there is a glorious section where Kym's vocals are given a telephone sort of effect. The lyrics are all about female empowerment and it builds to a nagging chorus. I would happily play this one several times.

      My next tip is 'Little Bit More' which has another chunky groove. Kym's vocals sound a little processed at the start, before a sexy sax creeps in and plays a mellow if not underwhelming hook. Kim's vocals show more restraint than before, though the track does stir echoes of 'Baby Love' by Dannii Minogue.

      'I Found Love' finds Kym delivering a sincere and heartfelt vocal in which she seems to be really tapping into her soul roots more than before. The tune is not that instant, but the sentiment of the song rings strong and Kym's vocals are proud and agile enough to hold the song together.

      By the time you are nearing the end of the album, you might be feeling there is all too much of the same thing on here. Dance music with a decent enough vocal, but a lack of killer hits. Okay, there are a handful of catchy ones, but a lot is samey and this is perhaps why Kym never had a very long running career.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Too Blind To See It
      2 Take My Advice
      3 Little Bit More
      4 Take Me To The Groove
      5 One Look
      6 I Found Love
      7 Shoulda Known Better
      8 In My Eyes
      9 Never Shoulda Let You Go
      10 I Can't Stop
      11 Too Blind To See It (1)

    Products you might be interested in