Welcome! Log in or Register

Total Life Forever - Foals

  • image
£21.71 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk / Artist: Foals / Deluxe Edition / Audio CD released 2010-05-10 at Warner Bros UK

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      18.04.2011 01:05




      Foals are an indie rock band and currently have two albums out; Antidotes (released in 2008) and Total Life Forever (released in 2010)
      The song i'm reviewing is Spanish Sahara, taken from the album Total Life Forever.

      This is my favourite song because it's so different to the rest of the Foals songs. If you listen to Foals you'll know that the lead singer, Yannis, can definetly sing; no doubt about it, but most of his vocals are pretty shouty, high pitched and brash.
      This is where Spanish Sahara is different. It starts out extremely quiet and slow with a heartbeat instrumental and slow guitar work, with a light, airy, relaxing feel to it. The opening vocals are lovely with a different side to Yannis' voice no ones heard before. His vocals are soft, gentle and emotional with clear lyrics and the background music is discreet & not overpowering, but makes you feel a part of the song, with a calming effect and it's easy to imagine what's happening in the song.

      Throughout the song it progresses slowly, getting tenser and incorporating the usual Foals electronic instrumentals however they're alot tamer in this song and go well with it. The song builds and builds throughout the song into a hugely intense yet perfect moment, with the lyrics "I'm the fury in your head", and the vocals are repeated and get louder then explode into a huge burst of musical lovelyness.
      By the end of the track you'll be hyped up. It'll be like you've switched tracks 2-3 minutes into it because the feel of it totally changes and expands into something great. You'll of more than likely switched from sitting quietly on your bed, laptop on your knee, to running around an open field with your ipod firmly in your pocket, Spanish Sahara on full blast.

      It's my favourite song possible ever, and is worth a listen. The video's also amazing and goes very well with the song.
      Don't let the softness of the begging put you off.. You'll be up and dancing in no time.

      The spanish sahara EP is available for £1.99 via iTunes or alternatively you could just give it a listen on Youtube!


      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        23.10.2010 17:41



        A great album, showing the versatility of this oxford based band

        Total Life Forever is the second album by fivesome, oxford based, indie rock band,Foals. It was released on the 10th May 2010.
        The band's 2008 debut, Antidotes, delivered spectacularly well after all the hype the band were recieving for thier distinct, yet cool sound. Yes, some critics criticize the bands music as too wierd but all Indie fans will appreciate how well the music is composed.

        The second album, Total Life Forever seems to be in a different world compared to the debut album, Antidotes. The debut album had very fast guitar riffs and a very frantic and fun feel to the music but Total Life Forever has a completely laid back feel and you can just unwind and relax while listening to it. Similar to the previous album, some tracks are outstanding and some are good but again, Foals have produced an excellent album.

        Athough I prefer more upbeat Indie music, I love the new album because it shows that Foals are a versatile band, who are able to produce different sounds, both live and in the studio. All in all, another great album by another great band.


        Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Blue Blood
      2 Miami
      3 Total Life Forever
      4 Black Gold
      5 Spanish Sahara
      6 This Orient
      7 Fugue
      8 After Glow
      9 Alabaster
      10 2 Trees
      11 What Remains

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Bloo Blood
      2 Bloo Blood 2
      3 TLF
      4 TLF 2
      5 TLF 3
      6 TLF 4
      7 TLF 5
      8 Black Gold //
      9 Black Gold 2
      10 Spanish Sahara (sonar)
      11 Alabastr
      12 Two Trees
      13 Two Trees 2
      14 Remains

    Products you might be interested in