Welcome! Log in or Register

Trouble In Mind - Hayes Carll

  • image
£9.46 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Country - Alt. Country / Artist: Hayes Carll / Audio CD released 2008-09-08 at Humphead

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      30.12.2009 22:29
      Very helpful



      a brilliant combination of brilliant songs and better songwriting.

      Trouble in Mind: a fitting title for this album. Hayes Carll manages to express sentiments of loss and regret, feelings of overindulgence and of unfulfilment, and, more positively, hope and enjoyment of life. Through his troubled-sounding voice and his guitar, Carll has given us a 50-minute, 14-track exploration (some would even say whirlwind tour) of the range of feeling we know as human emotions. "It's a Shame" is a lament to a love that never will be; "Don't Let Me Fall" is the bared soul of a man entirely reliant on those closest to him; however, perhaps the most striking is the way Carll manages to inject a poignancy into Tom Waits' renowned "I Don't Wanna Grow Up" that I have never heard in any version, including the original.
      There is a more upbeat side to the album; "Girl Downtown" details the unlikely love between a "real nice boy" and a girl "as pretty as a plate"; "I Got A Gig" is an exposition of the brief respite a travelling musician gets from a bit of work; and, in a supreme antithesis to the seriousness of the first 13 tracks, "She Left Me For Jesus" is a hilarious account of a man who thinks his girlfriend has found another man.

      Thematically, this album is genius. Musically, it doesn't fail to continue this. Carll's voice and the guitar are meant for each other, and while the album introduces non-traditional drumming styles, it still retains the banjo, steel guitar and fiddle that made country what it is.

      Ultimately, this is the best country album I've heard in a long time.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Drunken Poet's Dream
    2 It's A Shame (Album Version)
    3 Girl Downtown
    4 Bad Liver And A Broken Heart
    5 Beaumont
    6 I Got A Gig
    7 Faulkner Street
    8 Wild As A Turkey
    9 Don't let Me Fall
    10 A Lover Like You
    11 I Don't Wanna Grow Up
    12 Knockin' Over Whiskeys
    13 Willing To Love Again
    14 She Left Me For Jesus

Products you might be interested in