Welcome! Log in or Register

Two Pages - 4hero

  • image
£4.26 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic - Drum & Bass - Jungle / Artist: 4hero / Audio CD released 2000-08-28 at Mercury Records Ltd (London)

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.01.2009 21:33
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Groundbreaking and deserves a listen especially if you have any interest in jazz or drum and bass.

      Two Pages by 4hero was nominated for a Mercury Prize in 1998 and is a ground breaking album in my opinion, taking drum n bass in a new jazzy, organic direction.
      The album comprises of 2 distinct halves which may frustrate the listener. One half contains beautiful melodic music, making heavy use of strings and complicated drum patterns. Sweet vocals are complemented by jazzy instruments such as rhodes and double bass - giving a laid back feel. The theme is focused on Mother Earth, this complements the organic feel of the tracks. Some of the tracks are just instrumentals but feature excellent recorded performances with good melodies. The other half is very electronic drum n bass with a sci-fi feel and sounds cheesy and dated. These 2 halves don't mesh well in my opinion and prevent the album from being outstanding as a whole.
      The opening track Loveless is for me pretty much perfect - an album highlight - and is one I return to time and time again. It features the spoken word artist Ursula Rucker talking about the destruction of Mother Earth. This is complemented by excellent double bass, harps, strings and intricate drum beats.
      This is a beautiful album for relaxing to if you are willing to skip the retro sci-fi tracks that try to take the music in a different direction.

      [Also reviewed on Epinions and Ciao]


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Loveless - Ursula Rucker, 4hero
      2 Golden Age Of Life
      3 Planetaria
      4 Third Stream
      5 Wormholes
      6 Escape That
      7 Mother Solar (Part 1)
      8 Spirits In Transit
      9 Greys
      10 The Action - 4hero, Ish (aka "Butterfly")
      11 Star Chasers
      12 Wishful Thinking
      13 Normal Changing World
      14 Universal Love
      15 We Who Are Not As Others
      16 Humans
      17 Pegasus 51
      18 Three Thousand And Five
      19 De-Sci-Fe

    Products you might be interested in