Welcome! Log in or Register

Ultimate Experience - Jimi Hendrix

  • image
£9.99 Best Offer by: http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop/oxfam-unwrapped See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Rock - Classic Rock / Artist: Jimi Hendrix / Import / Audio CD released 1993-04-27 at Imports

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.01.2012 09:55



      guitar legend on a wonderfully presented cd

      The Ultimate Experience is a very appropriate name for this collection of Jimi Hendrix most memorable tunes. All the usual hits are here such as hey joe and all along the watchtower along with some great lesser known tracks such as Long hot summer night and gypsy eyes. Its a great introduction for new fans and a good single cd solution ideal for long time fans to keep in the car.

      The music itself has stood the test of time well and makes the polished, painting by number pop of the likes of X factor look quite pathetic. There is an urgency and vitality to the tracks that forces you to listen closely in admiration. When Jimi sings that he`s `gonna shoot my old lady` on Bob Dylans Hey Joe its with such conviction that you never doubt his conviction.

      He will always be a hero to guitarists everywhere and the riffs on this cd are some of his best and by turn some of the greatest in the rock canon. Its impossible to listen to a modern blues or rock guitarist without hearing a bit of Jimi`s influence.

      The 20 tracks selected for this compilation are given there own commentary in the wonderfully informative colour booklet that comes with the cd. This really helps to get an idea of the musical and social background Jimi was working in and how it influenced his music. The cover art is in keeping with the 60`s vibe and features a classic shot of Hendrix in all his charismatic splendor.

      In short this cd is the perfect introduction for the new fan and a handy, single disc compilation for a hardened fan. An essential purchase for any rock fan!


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      02.01.2012 16:08
      Very helpful



      Probably THE perfect compilation album.

      "The Ultimate Experience" is a compilation album posthumously released in 1992 by American musician, Jimi Hendrix, joined by the ever-present Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding.

      Johnny Allen Hendrix, better known as Jimi, was only 27 when he died of a drugs overdose in a London hotel in 1970. 3 years before that, one of the greatest guitarists that ever lived was unheard of. That was until The Jimi Hendrix Experience released their debut album, "Are You Experienced?" - the rest, as they say, is history.

      20 of the very best Hendrix songs are on this compilation album. 7 of those were UK Top 40 hits, with "Voodoo Child (Slight Return" reaching number one after Hendrix's death in 1970. The rest of this album is a dedication to how good Jimi Hendrix was. He may not have been much of a vocalist to some, but I'm sure we all know this man was a genius with a guitar.

      What you get with this album is a mixture of everything in rock and roll. From high energy songs in "Purple Haze", "Crosstown Traffic" and "Fire" to ballad-esque slower songs such as "Angel", "Hey Joe" and The Wind Cries Mary". You also get cover songs, too. Bob Dylan's "All Along the Watchtower", a live version of Chip Taylor's "Wild Thing" and Jimi's very own version of the "Star Spangled Banner".

      In summary, you probably don't need me to tell you how important Jimi Hendrix's music was, but suffice to say this compilation album will speak for me. We only got 3-4 years of the great man, but probably the best 3-4 years of anyone's career, ever. If you're a fan of music new and old, this compilation should be in your collection; no collection is complete without a bit of Jimi Hendrix.

      1. All Along the Watchtower
      2. Purple Haze
      3. Hey Joe
      4. The Wind Cries Mary
      5. Angel
      6. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
      7. Foxy Lady
      8. Burning the Midnight Lamp
      9. Highway Chile
      10. Crosstown Traffic
      11. Castles Made of Sand
      12. Long Hot Summer Night
      13. Red House
      14. Manic Depression
      15. Gypsy Eyes
      16. Little Wing
      17. Fire
      18. Wait Until Tomorrow
      19. Star Spangled Banner (Live)
      20. Wild Thing (Live)

      My rating: 9/10


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 All Along The Watchtower
    2 Purple Haze
    3 Hey Joe
    4 The Wind Cries Mary
    5 Angel
    6 Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
    7 Foxy Lady
    8 Burning Of The Midnight Lamp
    9 Highway Chile
    10 Crosstown Traffic
    11 Castles Made Of Sand
    12 Long Hot Summer Night
    13 Red House
    14 Manic Depression
    15 Gypsy Eyes
    16 Little Wing
    17 Fire
    18 Wait Until Tomorrow
    19 Star Spangled Banner (Live)
    20 Wild Thing (Live)

Products you might be interested in