Welcome! Log in or Register

Ultimate Queer As Folk: The Best Of And More

  • image
£7.19 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: Various Artists / Audio CD released 2005-11-14 at Almighty

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.10.2009 20:02
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      not bad

      The Queer As Folk series proved a huge hit when it hit tv screens about a decade ago. The show spurned countless spin-offs and also several music albums. This particular album seems pretty good value for money, as you get two discs, fourteen songs on the first disc and then a megamix disc on disc two.

      The first disc throws up a few treats. Suede's hip and happening 'Beautiful Ones' is an anthem for anyone with any fashion sense about to hit the town for a night out. Brett Anderson's vocal is full of swagger and the song is crying out to for you to adore it.

      Mainstream pop can be found in Rick Astley. 'Never Gonna Give You Up' remains a sterling pop gem with a suprisingly robust vocal from Rick and a keen catchy tune. If you like things more disco, then dip into Diana Ross for a touch of soul, before heading to the glorious 'I Feel Good Things For You' by Daddy's Favourite, which is a perfect record to warm up any quiet club, with a mellow groove and a funky bassline.

      OT Quartet deliver a trance tipped houser of epic proprtions, complete with a diva vocal and a breakdown to make the hairs on your neck stand on end. Sounds great when the piano riff kicks in. If this works for you, you might also like Urban Cookie Collective, which boasts a slinky vocal from Diane Charlamange.

      I can pass on Heather Small's 'Proud' which seems to have featured in too many ad campaigns of late and I also don't like 'It's Raining Men' which is way too camp and naff.

      The megamix CD is less appealing, as tracks by Kylie, Abba and even Air are given a dubious makeover. Save the megamix for a rainy day and stick with the first disc for a bit of disco pop fun.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Queer As Folk - Various Artists
      2 Beautiful Ones - Suede
      3 Sexy Boy - Kinky Boyz & Kia
      4 Never Gonna Give You Up - Astley, Rick
      5 I'm Coming Out - Ross, Diana
      6 I Feel Good Things For You - Daddy's Favourite
      7 Dr Who - Various Artists
      8 Mucho Mambo - Shaft
      9 Hold That Sucker Down - OT Quartet
      10 Key The Secret - Urban Cookie Collective
      11 Last Thing On My Mind - Steps
      12 Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You - Somerville, Jimmy
      13 It's Raining Men - Weather Girls
      14 Proud - Small, Heather

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Intro - Various Artists
      2 Feel The Need In Me - Utopia
      3 Holiday - Who's That Girl
      4 I Don't Know What I'd Do (If You Ever Left Me) - Indigo
      5 Young Hearts Run Free - Respect & Hannah Jones
      6 Ain't No Love (Ain't No Use) - Tabu & Mitzi B
      7 Use It Up And Wear It Out - Indigo
      8 Better The Devil You Know - Kia
      9 Uninvited - Deja Vu & Tasmin
      10 Armed And Extremely Dangerous - Respect & Shirley Lewis
      11 Haven't You Heard - Indigo
      12 Like A Prayer - Who's That Girl
      13 Free Gay And Happy - Disco Divas
      14 Love Pains - Obsession
      15 To Deserve You - Deja Vu & Tasmin
      16 Mouth - Rochelle
      17 Crush - Bianca
      18 To Love You More - Rapport & Rochelle
      19 How Could He Do This To Me - Haywood, Tammy
      20 I Am What I Am - Respect & Hannah Jones
      21 You Think You're A Man - Full Frontal
      22 SOS - Abbacadabra
      23 Save Tonight - Jackie O
      24 True Faith - Browne, Natalie
      25 Sexy Boy - Kinky Boyz & Kia
      26 Mamma Mia - Abbacadabra

    Products you might be interested in