Welcome! Log in or Register

Until Eternity Ends - Edge of Sanity

  • image
£8.59 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Edge Of Sanity / Import / Audio CD released 1995-04-16 at Black Mark Production

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.07.2008 20:21
      Very helpful



      Edge of Sanity's first E.P. (1994).

      This four-song E.P. was released prior to 'Purgatory Afterglow' containing original material that, according to the band's view, "didn't fit" with their new style. The style here is certainly a fairly radical departure from the band's traditional death metal sound into avenues more melodic and mainstream than they had attempted previously, but despite a few cool guitars here and there, this ends up being a largely unsatisfying and somewhat pointless release.

      The title song follows a more traditional rock direction than metal, the deathy style only being maintained by the heavy instruments. The riffs are medium tempo and wouldn't be out of place in a stoner rock band, and the vocals are accordingly sung in a deep spoken word style rather than growled. This song is led by a memorable guitar riff of the type sadly absent hereafter on the release. 'Eternal Eclipse' is a chorus-centric song with clean singing vocals, and almost as a conscious reactionary move, 'Bleed' is a fast, hard and energetic piece of punk-death-metal that sounds forced.

      I have no idea whether the final cover of the Police's 'Invisible Sun' compares to the original, but like their earlier cover of Manowar, this sounds very authentic, with minimal conversion to death metal. The harmony singing will be enough to scare away genre purists, and although it's a nice idea, it doesn't really work.

      1. Until Eternity Ends
      2. Eternal Eclipse
      3. Bleed
      4. Invisible Sun (The Police cover)


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Until Eternity Ends
    2 Eternal Eclipse
    3 Bleed
    4 Invisible Sun

Products you might be interested in