Welcome! Log in or Register

Urminnes Havd: The Forest Sessions - Manegarm

  • image
£6.24 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Manegarm / Audio CD released 2007-03-12 at Displeased

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      31.12.2008 11:30
      Very helpful



      Månegarm's first E.P. (2006).

      Just as many women will doubtless be interested in becoming pregnant just to see how their womb works, or just as many men will try to grow a beard at some point out of curiosity, bands such as Sweden's Månegarm who experiment with mixed genres, in their case supplementing black metal with folk elements, will feel the need to prove their credentials at some point in their career in the form of an experimental E.P. 'Urminnes Hävd - The Forest Sessions' is their permissible indulgence into the realm of pure folk, and it's actually pretty good.

      The problem that some bands encounter when altering their sound is that the music they're playing ends up sounding merely like a cheaper, stilted, unplugged version of their usual style, but the wide array of instruments and vocal styles on offer here, as well as the more relaxed tempo, makes this practically unrecognisable as the same band responsible for the fierce 'Dödsfärd.'

      This inevitably makes it somewhat less riveting to a metal fan, but the band succeeds in proving itself, and is arguably much more successful than their contemporaries such as Borknagar and Empyrium in their own shift towards a lighter style; thankfully, this is restrained to a single experimental release, with a mix of bouncy folk jigs and more subtle, reflective acoustic instrumentals.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Intro
    2 Himmelsfursten
    3 Utfard
    4 Alvatrans
    5 Hemkomst
    6 Doden
    7 Vaggvisa

Products you might be interested in