Welcome! Log in or Register

Very Best Of Jimmy Somerville: Bronski Beat And The Communards - Jimmy Somerville

  • image
£8.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - New Wave & Post-punk / Artist: Jimmy Somerville / Original recording remastered / Audio CD released 2001-09-10 at Wsm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.08.2009 18:12
      Very helpful
      1 Comment




      I don't know about you, but I happen to like Jimmy Somerville. Don't let the fact that he stands about four foot two inches tall put you off his music. He has a shrill and engaging voice and this collection gathers some of his finest moments, both as a solo artist and as part of the eighties hit combos Bronkski Beat and Communards.

      'Smalltown Boy' is amazing. The bassline and synth hook resonate so well, it is no wonder it has been sampled several times. If one looks into the song, you can also see that there is a very sad set of lyrics too. Somerville really taps into the raw emotion, yet gives it a dancefloor edge.

      'Don't Leave Me This Way' is a winner, with an anthemic and camp chorus and that startling bit where they hold the note and go up the scale at the end, reaching a soaring climax. Great fun all the way. If you enjoy that 'You Make Me Feel' is just as discotastic with piercing vocals and a thumping disco beat, a worthy cover of Slyvester.

      'There's More To Love ' is not widely discussed, a hit in the eighties and one of my the finer moments thanks to an understated chorus and a delicious melody which will make you tingle.

      'Comment Te Dire Adieu' with June Miles Kingston is a triumph, with teasing and sexy French vocals over a wicked disco rhythm. It is a song I return to again and again. I also recommend 'Read My Lips (Enough Is Enough)' which has a barnstorming energetic chorus in which Somerville pushes his vocal limits, reaching notes that could only have been achieved through him possibly having had some 'medical' op.

      No horrendous songs, though I am less keen on 'To Love Somebody' which does not deliver on the excitement factor. There are 17 songs and sadly no glossy pictures of Jimmy.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Smalltown boy
      2 Don't leave me this way
      3 Why?
      4 You make me feel (mighty real)
      5 Disenchanted
      6 Never can say goodbye
      7 So cold the night
      8 To love somebody
      9 There's more to love (than boy meets girl)
      10 Comment te dire adieu
      11 You are my world
      12 I feel love / Johnny remember me
      13 Tommorow
      14 Hurt so good
      15 Read my lips (enough is enough)
      16 For a friend
      17 Ain't necessarily so

    Products you might be interested in