Welcome! Log in or Register

Viva Emptiness - Katatonia

  • image
£28.00 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Katatonia / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2005-01-24 at Peaceville

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.03.2010 17:24
      Very helpful



      Superb dark gothic rock

      Katatonia's 2003 album 'Viva Emptiness' continues with the radio-friendly, dark gothic-rock style of its predecessor 'Tonight's Decision', however Viva Emptiness has a heavier and more dynamic feel to it, with the songs flitting between introspective and melancholy clean-chord passages with a folky tinge to them and thick and choppy riffs possessive of a strong sense of urgency. Elsewhere on the album there are laid back and reflective, warm, clean sections that provide a break from the surrounding tension, whilst still creating an atmosphere of bittersweet melancholy and regret.

      Whilst still ultimately poppy, the songs have a progressive feel to them and twist and turn in a manner that suits Jonas Reske's dejecected, angsty vocals and lyrics well. Both of the aforementioned are subtle and understated, with the vocals sounding more tormented and convincing than before and the lyrics appearing as fragmented and obtuse, offering personal-recollections that clearly mean something important to the singer but are often impenetrable to the listener. The lyrical delivery is powerful and heartfelt, and swearing is employed here and there to accentuate the angered nature of the lyrics/songs, a device which sits pleasingly incongruously against the otherwise radio-friendly feel of the music.

      In truth, angsty, radio-friendly gothic rock is something that I would normally turn my nose up at, but with Viva Emptiness Katatonia manage to get the formula just right, with the various songs flitting sharply from light and dark, fiercely angry and quitely reflective, (as well as convincingly mixing the two together) with the album possessing a spark and energy that is sadly missing from the band's subsequent efforts, which feel diluted and one-dimensional by comparison. Viva Emptiness is an album that is wholly engaging and devoid of filler, and comes highly recommended to fans of the likes of Opeth and Anathema as well as indie outfits such as The Pixies.


      1. Ghost of the Sun 04:07
      2. Sleeper 04:08
      3. Criminals 03:47
      4. A Premonition 03:33
      5. Will I Arrive 04:09
      6. Burn the Remembrance 05:22
      7. Wealth 04:22
      8. One Year from Now 04:02
      9. Walking by a Wire 03:32
      10. Complicity 04:01
      11. Evidence 04:36
      12. Omerta 02:58
      13. Inside the City of Glass 04:08

      Total playing time 52:45


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      12.08.2008 13:09
      1 Comment



      Katatonia's sixth album (2003).

      Katatonia's recent albums have been nothing to shout about, though the band attempts to contrive a more aggressive sound to appeal to nu metal fans with the cacophonous background riffs of their sixth album, the lacklustre 'Viva Emptiness.' Every song here could potentially be an impressive work of depressive rock, if the focus was more on atmosphere and less on erupting into thunderous guitar chords as the song enters its second half, though seemingly having no effect on any of the other instruments or vocals.

      Even the pointless swearathon of opener 'Ghost of the Sun' seems annoyingly targeted at a younger demographic of the type who might read 'Kerrang!' magazine, and to make matters worse, the album's genuine attempts to sound atmospheric through gloomy, lighter sections come off as nothing more than boring. The only song that I thoroughly enjoyed was the finale 'Inside the City of Glass,' which brings back the long-lost focus on guitars and instrumentation, and almost reaches epic heights.

      1. Ghost of the Sun
      2. Sleeper
      3. Criminals
      4. A Premonition
      5. Will I Arrive
      6. Burn the Remembrance
      7. Wealth
      8. One Year from Now
      9. Walking By a Wire
      10. Complicity
      11. Evidence
      12. Omerta
      13. Inside the City of Glass


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Ghost Of The Sun
      2 Sleeper
      3 Criminals
      4 Premonition
      5 Will I Arrive
      6 Burn The Remembrance
      7 Wealth
      8 One Year From Now
      9 Walking By A Wire
      10 Complicity
      11 Evidence
      12 Omerta
      13 Inside The City Of Glass

    Products you might be interested in