Welcome! Log in or Register

Voices Of Animals And Men - Young Knives

  • image
£1.50 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Pop / Artist: Young Knives / Audio CD released 2006-08-21 at Transgressive

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.11.2009 18:38
      Very helpful



      Worth a listen

      Voices Of Animals and Men is an album that is generally just above average but then has a couple of gems thrown in. The album is typical Young Knives with a solid guitar backing and some interesting lyrics thrown in for good measure.

      The real gems on this album are 'Weekends and Bleak Days' (formerly known 'Hot Summer'), 'The Decision' and 'Here Comes The Rumour Mill' These are all fairly fast paced tracks with a catchy chorus that you will remember. The Young Knives lyrics are one of the plus points and they manage to talk about horses in the new forest in 'The Decision', 'The horses in the new forest are running in their Sunday best' and then back this up with a catchy chorus of 'I am the Prince of Wales / I am the Prince of Wales / and if all else fails / I am the Prince of Wales'.

      Another of my favourite songs on the album is 'Loughborough Suicide', Loughborough is a place in Leicestershire near where The Young Knives are from and is a song about how dull the place is. This song is of a slightly slower pace compared to others on the album but it is one of my favourites.

      Of course as with many albums it has a few downsides, with 'In The Pink', 'Half Timer' and 'Another Hollow Line' leaving you feeling a bit let down, they are slower paced and far duller than the other songs on the album and the lyrics are a bit disappointing.

      Overall though I would recommend giving this album a go, it definitely has some very good tracks on it and is a good introduction to The Young Knives


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      05.08.2009 16:30
      Very helpful



      Little gem of an album.

      On first listen to this album, i really was not sure. On one hand, the catchy tunes and the harmonious vocals blended nicely together, but on the other, i could just not get used to the style and presentation of the lead singer's vocals.

      Having seen them live very recently, i gave it another shot. I have now been listening to this album alot more. I know kind of 'get' the style and enthusiasm from the band. I enjoy there music alot more. My advice would be to give it time, let it grow on you. I would say this about most music albums though, seeing as it is unfair to make first impressions on music and not give it another chance (a bit like meeting someone new for the first time! you make judgements and they are not neccesarily good ones)

      As for the sound of the actual music, I would not say they are technically the best band out there, but the catchy lyrics combined with even catchier guitar riffs explode in a virtuous harmony of indie and punk combined. Its all about the character of the band and there unique style. (they have great stage costumes- tweed outfits and lots of specs is what i remember the most)

      The singles from the album did not do extremely well in the mainstream UK charts it has to be said, but this is not a reflection on how good the songs are at all.

      'Hot Summer' provides a soundtrack to the summer, a very simple guitar riff underneath simple lyrics gives this simple song. The lyrics are good, the timing being the notable thing for me (he sings words at different speeds to you think) Its so easy to get into your head and is also very good to dance and wiggle to! :)

      'She's Attracted To' has a very good vibe and feel to it. It reminds a little of 'Parklife' by Blur in the way he sings about something which tells a story with a stand out catchy chorus. The chorus uses a surprising amount of dynamics, more instruments are introduced and it gets louder and more punkier.

      'Here Comes The Rumor Mill' has a great basic up and down bassline and pretty good lyrics. The song has very simple music, which as do many of the songs on the album. The chorus is excellent, again using a big dynamical change with a beefy guitar being involved. The song makes me smile.

      'The Decision' makes me laugh, due to the bassist's vocals providing a almost comical vibe to them. I am not sure why but i can imagine him telling a very funny joke. Im just weird though :P The song has a slow and simple sound, with the harmonies in the chorus standing out for me.
      The lyrics 'I'm the prince of wales, I'm the prince of wales and if all else fails I'm the prince of wales!' make me laugh every time.

      Overall, if you decide to buy this album, please, please give it a chance. Because i almost didnt and it would have been a fatal error in my logic to have left this piece of genious out of my musical wardrobe.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Part Timer
    2 Decision
    3 Weekends And Bleak Days (Hot Summer)
    4 In The Pink
    5 Mystic Energy
    6 Here Comes The Rumour Mill
    7 Tailors
    8 Half Timer
    9 She's Attracted To
    10 Dialing Darling
    11 Another Hollow Line
    12 Coastguard
    13 Loughborough Suicide
    14 Tremblings Of Trails

Products you might be interested in