Welcome! Log in or Register

WBBD Bootcity! The Remix Album - Bell Biv DeVoe

  • image
£8.10 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Soul / Artist: Bell Biv DeVoe / Audio CD released 1991-08-27 at Ims

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.09.2009 12:26
      Very helpful



      1991 Bell Biv DeVoe remix album

      In 1991 Bell Biv DeVoe (who consisted of Slick, R.D. and Biv - all former New Edition members) came with "WBBD- Bootcity!". The release came as an opportunity to build up hype on the way to their second album as they brought this remix release out to pull out all of the extra energy which was found within the New Jack Swing album "Poison", which featured (most notably) a sng which takes the title from the name of the collection.

      1. "DJ Opening" (Intro)

      2. "Word To The Mutha!"

      Following a freaky and hyped starter, you have a track which takes it time to really work its way up to the sort of level which you expect from an album of this sort as they show how the use of some authentic Funk from the early seventies is going to come up with the goods here and make for some of the exciting New Jack Swing results which they want to get form it. This comes through as you have them all in a massive high singing well and rapping in a manner which seems fitting.

      **Four Stars**

      3. "Ain't Nut'in Changed!"

      In this short ne they are seen to come out with another killer remix as they take another of the big jams from their debut and simply make it bigger and better as they get on top of some fly beats which unashamedly take from the Hip hop world to show how they don't just want the softer end of it, but also the hardcore beats to make the most out of the potential within the New Jack Swing sub-genre in R&B.

      **Four Stars**

      4. "B.B.D."

      DJ Mo Grind is responsible for what occurs here as he cuts up the track when the group are seen to just takes things to a new high as they jump on top of classic material from James Brown in order to take them to where they need to be and what was hot in the club scene at the time. It is one which really stands out here and I felt that the implementation of the throwback samples was an influence upon this effect.

      **Five Stars**

      5. "Do Me!" (Smoothe)

      You find that although because it is named as a 'Remix Album' they aren't just going to mess with old fly cuts, but they are also willing to bring some of the sensual material up to this high tempo too to show how well it seems to fit. In this case I was much more fond of the original composition, but the way that the freaky breaks alter it are a nice touch and certainly change the way you have to feel the music.

      **Four Stars**

      6. "I Do Need You"

      With this one you find that not only do they have the intension of making significant changes t past material, as they have also come to modify past cuts so the effect is slightly enhanced as here they sing on some altered production so that the emotive nature of the song can really come through effectively. I personally wasn't really that pleased with the results (as there was nothing wrong with the original) but I expect that others will value such a tune having a complete revamp on this release.

      **Three Stars**

      7. "Uhh Ahh" (Lude)

      8. "Let Me Know Something?!"

      Off an interlude, this one finds them getting right back to the club swing of things as here they get on top of a sped-up variation of the "Take Me To The Mardi Gras" break and come with some fly material to get you ready for what will come for th final few tracks on the album. It is one which really stands out here and I felt that much of this was down to the fresh beats which they do things on top of.

      **Four Stars**

      9. "She's Dope!"

      Classic Hip Hop is seen to be used here for them to work off as they show just how effective the contrasts have seen to develop as they are complimented by the harshness of everything that comes through in the production to show just how strong their light and smooth voices are at bringing out all that the songs really need to make them so big. It is a killer one and gives things a massive boost at this stage.

      **Five Stars**

      10. "Do Me!" (Mental)

      They take track, which has already had a reworking on this album, and do even more with it as this time around they really make the effort to bring all of its elements up to the New jack Swing style (and not just some mild elements of the beats). This one sounds much more complete than the earlier version on this album and so really overshadows what has come earlier on in the album to show that they are really taking things far here and aren't afraid to show how much experimentation has gone into this release .

      **Five Stars**

      11. "When Will I See You Smile Again"

      Things are seen to calm down once more as this one gets into action and you find that with it they intend to take it to the sort of emotive and sensual style which was prominent the first time around. It is one which seesm to really fit in with the way tha this album has been done and it ensures that you are able to feel just how powerful the words of this song are with it re-sung in a much more engaging manner.

      12. "Poision"

      In what is said to be "London Style" you have them ripping through the most popular single from their debut here. It is a banger of a joint and I thought that it was the best way to end the album on as it leaves you on a high and finds them making big things out of a jam which everyone is able to get down to and truly feel as they sing about the types of girls who you need to keep in check at all times.

      **Five Stars**

      Although I can't say that it is that much of an improvement from their debut, I have to say that this is a pretty strong album from Bell Biv DeVoe, and finds them making the most out of the hot material which they presented as they initially burst on the scene with a Kool G Rap & DJ Polo-sampling classic for the New Jack Swing world.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Intro/D.J. Opening
    2 Word to the Mutha!
    3 Ain't Nut'in' Changed
    4 B.B.D. (I Thought It Was Me)? [DJ Mo Grind Time]
    5 Do Me! [Smoothe]
    6 I Do Need You
    7 Interview/Uhh Ahh
    8 Let Me Know Something?!
    9 She's Dope! [AKA Dope!][Mix]
    10 Do Me! [Mental]
    11 When Will I See You Smile Again? [DJ Close]
    12 Poison [London Style]

Products you might be interested in