Welcome! Log in or Register

Who Needs Guitars Anyway? - Alice Deejay

  • image
£15.44 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic - House & Garage / Artist: Alice Deejay / Audio CD released 2000-07-17 at Positiva

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      24.06.2009 05:52
      Very helpful



      Who Needs Guitars Anyway? -You do Alice Deejay - Or A Power Cut Wld Be Even Better (FOR US)!!

      Who Needs Guitars Anyway? - Album Review

      WHAT IS IT?

      Who Needs Guitars Anyway? is a 14 track album by Dutch, all girl band Alice Deejay, that was released way back at the turn of the millennium.

      The style of music on offer here is what I'd describe as Dance Trance music -lol!! and is a million miles away from the sort of music that would normally grace my CD player.

      However my girlfriend had this on in her car for a few weeks, so I got to hear the album quite a bit (which isn't necessarily a good thing).

      I did just about suffer 'Back in My Life' with it's fat analogue synth sounds (takes me back to the 80's -lol!!), and 'Better Off Alone' with it's cleverly produced synth hihat intro that suddenly skips on to the 'off' beat, before boring me senseless.

      But even less interesting were tracks like 'No More Lies' with it's tedious synth loop and weak vocal, and 'Will I Ever' which was like Cher on a REALLY bad day, with lyrics written by a 4 year old....

      Still I'm mindful of the fact that I'm slightly (but not very) biased cuz this isn't my kind of music; so if you're into pounding 2/4 synth bass rhythms you might love this album.

      However for myself I can only say to the band, in answer to their album title;
      'Who Needs Guitars Anyway?' -You do Alice DJ!! badly!! you also need a lyricist, a more imaginative production, and most of all talent....

      Conclusion; unless you're REALLY into this type of music (and very forgiving of mediocrity) avoid!!

      Best wishes,


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Back In My Life
    2 Better Off Alone
    3 Celebrate Our Love
    4 I Can See (See It In Your Eyes)
    5 Lonely One
    6 Elements Of Life
    7 Who Needs Guitars Anyway
    8 Will I Ever
    9 Waiting For Your Love
    10 No More Lies
    11 Fairytales
    12 Everything Begins With An E
    13 Got To Get Away
    14 Alice Deejay
    15 Interactive Element

Products you might be interested in