Welcome! Log in or Register

Wicked Little High - Bird York

  • image
£13.93 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: Bird York / Audio CD released 2006-03-13 at Virgin

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.01.2010 17:21
      Very helpful



      Crash - Bird York

      **Introduction** You may not know her by name but I'm sure you have come across her music, That is if you have ever seen the film Crash. (Not the film about getting sexually aroused by car crashes). Bird York's track "In The Deep" was in my opinion one of the best uses of music in a film. She had spent years on the Indie circuit before her break in 2004 with the afformentioned "In The Deep" which she co wrote with Michael Becker. She had released her debut "Bird York" in 1999 which included no less than Tori Amos. Kathleen "Bird" York is also an actress who has appeared in The West Wing. **Wicked Little High** Released in 2006 and under construction since 2003, Wicked Little High is the third release from York and is her most successful album to date. There are twelve tracks featured on the album and she can be compared to the likes of Tori Amos and Sara Bareilles. When I heard "In the Deep" in Crash I instantly wanted to find out about who the artist was and if there was an album available. There was and here is my review of "Wicked Little High" 1 Had A Dream 2 Remedy 3 Wicked Little High 4 Open Wider 5 In The Deep 6 Freedom 7 Hold On I'm Coming 8 Save Me 9 Lovely Thing 10 Come Be With Me 11 Up In Flames 12 Have No Fear "Had A Dream" opens the album and this is a catchy introduction to the album, It's the longest song on the album at 5 minutes 13 seconds. Her voice is strong, tuneful and expressive. As this song develops it becomes catchier and thanks to a funky beat which could be found on a Massive Attack track it has a great flow. "Remedy" is up next and this is an acoustic based track which has an interestingly dark Nirvana like Guitar feel and the atmospheric backing provides a great feel with the gentle vocals. The bassline comes in and this is another very flowing track with some nice vocals and the music builds and slows well throughout. Good stuff. "Wicked Little High" is the title track of the album and is a gentle track which has some great backing vocals. This is another track that has a good flow although it's slightly more relaxed than the opening two tracks. There are some nice keyboard sounds mixed with the gentle guitar which sound good towards the end of the song. "Open Wider" sees York in a slow Alanis Morrisette style which has a nice flow and the music is rather good with some great licks and the percussion moves along well with the keys to create a good background for her voice. This is another very decent track which shows some of the variety of her music. "In The Deep" is undoubtedly the song of the album, It tells the story of struggling through life looking for something. I love the gentle female backing vocals and the musical backing is gentle yet very effective. Her voice is on top form with a very gentle emotive vocal performance. I fell in love with this song when I heard only a few bars in the film and the video is a bonus on the dvd. Absolutely Brilliant track. "Freedom" is an R&B style track which has a catchy beat and Michael Jackson like claps. Then the bass hook comes in with the beat and develops this song into a very flowing track indeed. This track is perfect coming after "In The Deep" as it feels like you have reached your goal and have got out of the kind of mood that "In The Deep" speaks of. "Hold on I'm Coming" is a fantastic cover of the Sam & Dave classic which has been covered by such artists as BB King and Eric Clapton, The Temptations and also Aretha Franklin. Whilst Bird York does not have the vocal power of said artists she does have a very pure emotive voice and the sincerity of her vocal comes across here. Very good stuff. "Save Me" is a gentle track which features some smooth guitar and a simple yet catchy drum beat, This is another track from the album which has a very good flow and the track is about telling someone you need them to be there for you and save you from your problems. This is another very strong track. "Lovely Thing" has a very interesting feel, It opens very interestingly indeed with a kind of Indian Country style and then develops with a good beat and some catchy guitar licks. This is another track which has a brilliantly flowing feel and this is one of the best tracks on the album. Very good stuff. "Come be with me" is a lovely ballad which has a very gentle feel, her vocals are deeper and are quite haunting on this track about wanting to be with someone who you really care for. I would say this is the second best track on the album after "In The Deep". This reminds me of Thea Gilmore and if you are a regular reader of my reviews you will know how much I like her. "Up in Flames" is a very interesting track indeed, it features a Hip Hop like beat and some very funky bass licks with some great soulful keys. This again shows the variety of her music and is one of the best tracks on the album. This track is about a relationship that is up in flames and you're not sure whether it can be saved. "Have No Fear" is a lovely little track to end with, It's just gentle piano and Bird's voice. This track really shows off the purity and emotion of her voice and is a very impressive track. Probably the third best on the album but would be right up there with "In the deep" if it was a couple of minutes longer and around the length of most on the album. Great end. **Overall** A lot of albums like this with one big hit on usually end up being largely forgettable affairs. This however is a very good album indeed. As well as the fabulous "In The Deep" there are a number of other great tracks, led by the likes of "Have No Fear", "Up in Flames", "Come be with me" and finally the fantastic cover of "Hold on I'm Coming". If you remember "In The Deep from Crash and if you liked it then give this a go as it's a very solid album indeed.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Had A Dream
      2 Remedy
      3 Wicked Little High
      4 Open Wider
      5 In The Deep
      6 Freedom
      7 Hold On I'm Coming
      8 Save Me
      9 Lovely Thing
      10 Come Be With Me
      11 Up In Flames
      12 Have No Fea