Welcome! Log in or Register

Wind in the Wires - Patrick Wolf

  • image
£7.00 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Pop / Artist: Patrick Wolf / Audio CD released 2005-02-21 at Tomlab

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      31.07.2011 15:25
      Very helpful



      Brilliant first track, and the rest, for the most part, lacks

      First off, the opening track - 'The Libertine' - is absolutely fantastic! What a great opening and great first introduction to Patrick Wolf, as this was the first song of his that I had heard after my best friend told me to go check him out. It immediately drew me in, and I am now devouring all his releases as we speak! I love his use of the violin, and he actually plays it himself aswell as a vast amount of other interesting instruments - ones that are too complicated for me to remember how to spell!

      Interestingly, 'The Railway House' reminds me of 'Golden Brown' by the Stranglers; it has that kind of sound at the beginning with the instrument playing, and even just the singing reminds me of it. There's quite a lot of intermission tracks that are only a minute long, so the album is quite broken down and short, but never is great instrument playing lost; it's beautiful all the way through. Though, none of the other tracks have that same oomph that 'The Libertine' possesses; songs like 'This Weather' have elements where they come close to the magic in 'The Libertine' but none can match it. The 'Wind In The Wires' therefore feels a bit empty in this sense; there are no songs quite living up to the 'The Libertine' and it's a very short album.

      There are moments in 'Tristan,' 'Eulogy' and some others that I could pick out as great ensembles, but I feel this does not carry over from start to finish as well as it should; there are moments in this album, particuarly with 'The Libertine,' that show what Patrick Wolf is capable of but do not do him justice enough.

      For me, half the album's good, half could possibly be chucked away and there's merely one 'great' track, 'The Libertine.' I think this album has been good in Patrick Wolf's musical journey as you have to remember he writes and composes all his music - so he's still experimenting and learning. His newer stuff reflects this. I've found it quite enjoyable listening to this album and it's nice listening to something a bit different but I don't think it's something you need to go out and buy first thing tomorrow! I'm still glad I got this for 'The Libertine,' though!


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      11.03.2010 16:58



      A treat for the ears and the soul

      This was the first album by Patrick Wolf I came across. It was introduced to me by a friend who amazingly always seems to pick out the music I will go crazy for. Wind in the Wires is no exception.
      This album flows like one long, sorrowful violin note, a sea shanty that will break your heart and swell your spirits all at the same time. Patrick Wolf is a master of many instruments and isn't shy about showing it.
      What does make this album so delicious is that it made me realise that the genre 'Folk Electro' actually works. I know, it sounds insane but it does. I must admit it takes a bit of getting used to if you're usually just into folk music, but it's beautifully done and well worth a try.

      I think this in an incredibly poignant album. When you consider at its release Patrick Wolf was just 21, and already a master of playing violin, piano, ukulele, dulcimer, accordion, synthesizer, guitar, bass, and percussion (to name a few) it really is no shock he is also a lyrical master. From the haunting melody of Teignmouth to the sexy shameless lyrics of Tristan, this is a treat for the ears and the soul. This music always manages to fill me up; it is so inspiring to hear a new take on folk music. Wolf has taken the instruments he uses, and a style of music, and breathed a whole new life and character into them.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 The Libertine
    2 Teignmouth
    3 The Shadow Sea
    4 Wind In The Wires
    5 The Railway House
    6 The Gypsy King
    7 Apparition
    8 Ghost Song
    9 This Wheater
    10 Jacobs Ladder
    11 Tristan
    12 Eulogy
    13 Lands End

Products you might be interested in