Welcome! Log in or Register

Wonderful, Glorious - Eels

  • image
£14.49 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk / Artist: Eels / Deluxe Edition / Audio CD released 2013-02-04 at E-Works

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.08.2013 13:18
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A great album with lots of upbeat tunes. A good intro for people new to the Eels

      ~Wonderful, Glorious~
      Wonderful, Glorious was released in February 2013, three years since the last offering from E and friends. Having been an Eels fan for years, and having concert tickets to see them in the March, I bought the album within days of release to familiarise myself with the tracks before the tour.

      ~Track List~
      Bombs Away
      Kinda Fuzzy
      Accident Prone
      Peach Blossom
      On the Ropes
      The Turnaround
      New Alphabet
      Stick Together
      True Original
      Open My Present
      You're My Friend
      I Am Building a Shrine
      Wonderful, Glorious

      ~Bonus disk~
      I didn't realize there was a deluxe edition, so I bought the regular album like a wally. I've listened to the bonus tracks through Music Unlimited, and the bonus tracks are largely older songs played live. A nice addition to listen to, but it was mostly the new tracks I was interested in.

      The album starts with Bombs Away, a rioting, loud track which sets the tone of a comeback for the band. "I've had enough of being complacent/I've had enough of being a mouse/I no longer keep my mouth shut/Bombs away!/Gonna shake the house". I think we've all felt like that at some point!

      Kinda Fuzzy swaggers in as the next track, full of charm and vigor, but is then followed by the slightly disappointing Accident Prone. It's a pretty track with good lyrics, but it doesn't do anything for me and is kind of forgettable.

      Peach Blossom was the first track from this album. I find it fun, upbeat and distinctively Eels! On the Ropes is in the same vein as Accident Prone - a good song but fades into the background amongst the rest of the amazing songs on the album.

      The Turnaround has become one of my favourite songs of all time. Seriously, I can't get enough of it. I love to listen to it when driving late at night when it's dark - it's just so incredibly epic. The way the music builds up to the end section, "Six bucks in my pocket/The shoes on my feet/The first step is out the door/Then onto the street". E sings this over and over getting more and more vocal, with the guitar rising to meet his urgency. Gives me goosebumps.

      Stick Together is another uptempo, fun song with a great little base line making it quite distinct. True Original is a bit dreary but has some great lyrics "And if a gun was pointed at her/I would stand between the bullet and her/And if not being with me is what makes her happy/I'd take that bullet too". Open My Present is a bit cheesy, but I love it, then You're My Friend and I Am Building a Shrine are fairly standard 'getting towards the end of an album, not so good but good enough' kind of tracks.
      Wonderful, Glorious is a great end to the album. An upbeat, almost poppy track, where E sings Wonderful, Glorious a fair few times. Which sums up my feelings towards the album, and the Eels in general.

      I'm a huge fan of the Eels, so I was expecting to like this album. I've always been a big fan of Daisies of the Galaxy, and I find this album to be on par with that. I went to see the Eels earlier this year performing songs from this album, and it was one of the best gigs I've ever been to. They have so much energy and enjoyment for what they do. There is the odd weaker track, but the strong tracks make up for this. This is a much more uplifting album than previous ones, so I think could be good for newcomers to the glory of the Eels!


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Bombs Away
      2 Kinda Fuzzy
      3 Accident Prone
      4 Peach Blossom
      5 On the Ropes
      6 The Turnaround
      7 New Alphabet
      8 Stick Together
      9 True Original
      10 Open My Present
      11 You're My Friend
      12 I Am Building a Shrine
      13 Wonderful, Glorious

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Hold On to Your Hat
      2 Your Mama Warned You
      3 I'm Your Brave Little Soldier
      4 There's Something Strange
      5 Happy Hour (We're Gonna Rock)
      6 That's Not Really Funny
      7 In My Dreams
      8 Prizefighter
      9 Looking Up
      10 What I Have to Offer
      11 I Like the Way This Is Going
      12 Spectacular Girl
      13 Summer in the City

    Products you might be interested in