Welcome! Log in or Register

Y Not - Ringo Starr

  • image
£3.84 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Ringo Starr / Audio CD released 2010-02-01 at Commercial Marketing

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.07.2010 21:22
      Very helpful





      A couple of years back, Ringo Starr said he would no longer sign autographs. Not only was this a slap in the face to all his devoted fans down the years, he has the cheek to release an album like this.

      After the relative success of Ringo's last album , Liverpool 8, he soon set himself the task of recording the follow up. Y Not is Ringo's most successful album since 1976 selling a tidy 30,000 copies worldwide. This may have something to do with the myriad of special guests he has on this new record and his relentless touring with his All Starr Band.


      Reviewing a Ringo Starr album is a pretty thankless task. Not only are you comparing it to The Beatles, but also to the work of Ringo's best work from the early days of the 70's. Of course, it comes nowhere close to either of these things, but Ringo would have you believe that it is. It's totally drenched in nostalgia, from head to toe. Not only do we get Beatley type tunes, but also production that harks back to George Harrison's comeback album, Cloud Nine (a very good album indeed).

      By far and away the best track is the one that features Macca on backing vocals - Walk With You. Its a hummable track, but the rest is pretty much dire. The opening track 'Fill In the Blanks' that features Eagle Joe Walsh has potential but is let down by some annoying vocal work by Starr.

      'The Other Side of Liverpool' tries to recreate the success of 'Liverpool8' from his last album, but falls pretty flat. Its all nostalgia and while Starr is obviously enjoying a bit of it - I can't see anybody who might be the slightest bit interested.
      The album also features probably the worst piece of album art I've ever seen. Poorly done, and probably in under 5 minutes on Word 97, it kind of sums up the lacklustre sound that the album permeates.


      In all, Y Not is a pretty lame album by a pretty lame artist. Its amazing that Starr has made such a career since the Beatles, but just his association with the Fab Four means he will always have adoring fans about him to sing his praises - that and plenty of people lined up to work with him.

      I suggest getting his singles collection 'Blast From Your Past' for anyone interested - at least thats got 'You're Sixteen' and 'It Don't Come Easy' on it.



      1. "Fill in the Blanks" (featuring Joe Walsh)
      2. "Peace Dream" (featuring Paul McCartney on bass)
      3. "The Other Side of Liverpool"
      4. "Walk With You" (lead single, a duet with McCartney)
      5. "Time"
      6. "Everyone Wins"
      7. "Mystery of the Night"
      8. "Can't Do It Wrong"
      9. "Y Not"
      10. "Who's Your Daddy" (featuring Joss Stone)


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Fill In The Blanks
      2 Peace Dream
      3 The Other Side Of Liverpool
      4 Walk With You - Ringo Starr, Paul McCartney
      5 Time
      6 Everyone Wins
      7 Mystery Of The Night
      8 Can't Do It Wrong
      9 Y Not
      10 Who's Your Daddy - Ringo Starr, Joss Stone

    Products you might be interested in