Welcome! Log in or Register

You're Living All Over Me - Dinosaur Jr.

  • image
£6.29 Best Offer by: foyles.co.uk See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk / Artist: Dinosaur Jr. / Original recording remastered / Audio CD released 2005-03-21 at Sweet Nothing

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      26.02.2010 18:44
      Very helpful



      Criminally underrated

      You're Living All Over Me is the second album from hardcore legends Dinosaur Jr, and their most influential release in an on and off 25 year career.

      Released in 1987 with the band still working under the Dinosaur moniker (the Jr added later after legal threats from an older band of the same name) the young three piece comprised drummer Murph, and two figures who would grow to become legends in the scene. Bassist Lou Barlow would stick it out for a further album (Bug) before quitting the band and creating the "lo-fi" scene with Sebadoh and later The Folk Implosion. Ultimately, however, the star of the show is guitarist vocalist J Mascis. Starting off his career as a drummer cemented a strong sense of rhythm in his guitar playing that's made him a real guitarist's guitarist.

      Whilst their self titled debut was a fine declaration of intent, YLAOM is the blueprint for everything from grunge to alt rock to emo. Every song is loaded with wave after wave of distortion, yet there is a vibe of melancholy and warmth across the whole album that sets it apart from anything else. That and Mascis' stoned not stoned vocal delivery are what makes the band, and certainly this album unique.

      Its unfair to take this album as anything but a whole, but for me there are three pivotal moments. Firstly The Lung stands out; beautifully delivered and growing from a seed to a mighty oak in a few short minutes, it really brings a smile. Poledo is essentially a tape collage created by Barlow, and in a nutshell is this albums Revolution #9. Only not rubbish. Then at the end you get a rare treat, a cover version the band actually make their own. The Cure's Just Like Heaven would only have been a matter of months old before Dino grabbed hold of it and shook it til it broke, yet its this version that's the most endearing. Look out for that abrupt ending too; you'll spend a few months wondering whether it uploaded to your ipod wrong. Or maybe that's just me.

      10 tracks in a little over half an hour, it's a showcase of what a band can achieve when they take a minute to catch breath before racing ahead of the pack.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Little Fury Things
    2 Kracked
    3 Sludgefeast
    4 The Lung
    5 Raisans
    6 Tarpit
    7 In A Jar
    8 Lose
    9 Poledo
    10 Just Like Heaven (Bonus Track)
    11 Little Fury Things (Video) (Bonus Track)
    12 Just Like Heaven (Video) (Bonus Track)

Products you might be interested in