Welcome! Log in or Register

Armageddon's Children - Terry Brooks

  • image
£3.33 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Author: Terry Brooks / Format: Paperback / Date of publication: 05 July 2007 / Genre: Fantasy / Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group / Title: Armageddon's Children / ISBN 13: 9781841494807 / ISBN 10: 1841494807

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.03.2011 12:57
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A good book overall

      Armageddon's Children is the first book in a series entitled The Genesis of Shannara written by author Terry Brooks.
      The series continues where a previous book entitled Angel Fire East left off.

      Angel Fire East was part of a series entitled The Word and The Void. Before starting the current book I am reviewing it is important to read the above series mentioned.
      Books to look for

      Book 1 Running with the Demon
      Book 2 A Knight of the Word
      Book 3 Angel Fire East
      The series focuses on the fight between good (The Word) and evil (The void)

      The book takes place in earth's future in the year 2100 where demons roam the earth. It is not all doom and gloom and earth still has its protectors known as the Knights of the Word.

      A Knight named Logan Tom must find a magical creature named the Gypsy Morph if he is too help save humanity.

      Is the leader of a tribe called the ghosts. He is accompanied by a huge dog named Chenney.

      Although the group has similar ages Owl takes on the role of mother of the group. She is the most respected and is the sort of character the group looks too for advice. Sadly her character is wheel chair bound but not helpless.

      Panther is the sort of character that would be currently leader if he was a bit more respected. His character has a problem with authority.

      Is the tribe's pet dog and is named after an American politician named Dick Cheney. He sometimes acts as protector to the group.

      As this is first book in the series most of the time is spent going into the character's history. It is because of this that at times the book feels very drawn out.

      The characters in this book are all very likable and help take away some of the death and gloom in the storyline.
      Overall I would definitely recommend this book if not for the characters but for all the constant action.

      This review may be found on dooyoo (jonathanhopley) ciao pratchettfan and epinions jonathanhopley.


      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        17.06.2010 11:14
        Very helpful
        1 Comment



        Futuristic Fantasy Book

        This is my first ever review here goes! I originally ordered this book after looking through Amazon for fiction books about the future which are the style of books which I like. Little did I know when I got this that there are 2 other books in the series and even more by this author in other series which all link together. I don't read particularly fast or often but with this book I did due to the way it got me hooked from start to finish.
        The story is set in the future in a world which has been ravaged by nuclear war. Most people live in walled communities. Outside of these communities are various different characters good and Bad. The bad being the Demons and their army of 'once men' creatures who used to be human.
        The good and the main story focuses on a group of misfit children (The Ghosts) who live outside together in Seattle. They all have nicknames which have been given to them based on what they do. So you have Panther, Hawk, Owl, Fixit and many more.
        There are other sub stories within the book - One the story of the Elves who live hidden away from the rest of the world but due to the bad management of the human world the Elves world is now threatened.
        There are also 2 Knights of the Word who are sent to save both the elves and the Ghosts.
        I love the way the story flicks between each subplot and eventually all ties in together. I enjoyed this book so much that I have since read the following 2 books in the series and have now started on another from the same author. You really get a good sense of the surroundings in the book - bleak and barren and all the characters are easy to get close to. I highly recommend this book, but it may be worth looking at the terry brooks website first as reading these 3 first is not the recommended order to read his books.


        Login or register to add comments
      • Product Details

        Fifty years from now, our world is unrecognisable. Pollution and warfare have poisoned the skies, the water and the soil. Pockets of society still exist, living in highly fortified strongholds, while those outside the walls roam the landscape - either predator or prey. But even these isolated compounds are not safe; armies of demons and once-men assault their defences, and inevitably, one by one, they succumb. Civilisation has fallen and anarchy is the only law. Logan Tom and Angel Perez are the last two Knights to stand against the forces of chaos. These two extraordinary people have the ability to resist the dark tide, and to them will fall twin tasks: to find and protect a very old and a very new magic. They are humanity's last hope. Although the odds are stacked against them, Logan and Angel have the power to halt the destruction of the Old World. It will be up to others to usher in the New.

      Products you might be interested in