Welcome! Log in or Register

Bedtime Little Library - Andrew Davenport

  • image
£1.14 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Author: Andrew Davenport / Hardcover / 60 Pages / Book is published 2011-03-03 by BBC Children's Books / Alternative title: In the Night Garden: Bedtime Little Library

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.12.2012 22:20
      Very helpful



      A good set of books to take with you but not a lot of storyline

      My daughter has become quite a fan of In the Night Garden, the CBeebies bedtime hour programme that follows a somewhat strange looking set of characters in a beautiful garden, in a world that young children probably dream about. I'm not one to let my daughter watch a lot of TV, and I certainly don't tend to purchase tv related toys or books in general. However, a month or so ago, whilst in Asda, I noticed they were selling this little set of 'In the Night Garden' books as part of a Bedtime Little LIbrary for £3 and I thought that was pretty good value given there are books in the box. I also liked the fact that I could put it into my handbag, so I can pull them out when I am out and about. I find them particularly handy when out in a cafe, as they keep my daughter entertained and happy.

      When I took them off the shelf to have a better look my daughter grabbed at them, and I even had difficulty getting them out of her hand to pay for them! Each of the six books is devoted to a character(s) from the book - IgglePiggle, Upsy Daisy, The Pontipines, The Haahoos, Macca Pacca and the Tombliboos. The spines of the books are different colours and there is a cute feature, in that, if you turn each of the books over you can make a picture of IgglePiggle in his little boat, that is featured at the start and end of the programme.

      My daughter wanted these books read immediately when we had bought them, and when I started reading one, I was disappointed in that they didn't seem to be either be very long or secondly have much of a storyline. However, that said, sometimes I don't think there is a lot of storyline to the programme at times. I soon realised though that for my almost 16 month old daughter, these book were actually the perfect length and she will happily sit and listen to all six being read, one after the other, and they hold her attention, because they are short. I think if they were longer, she would get bored and wouldn't want to read all the books.

      Each of the books starts with the phrase.... Once upon a time in the Night Garden. The storylines are basic, if you could even call it a storyline at times. Some of the books are better than others. THe Pontipine book is quite good, as Mr Pontipine loses his moustache and the Tombliboos who are trying to build up a tower of blocks but the Bouncy Ball keeps knocking it down, is also quite a good book. However, the one with IgglePiggle and Upsy Daisy are thin on the ground when it comes to much of a storyline. My daughter however doesn't appear to be put off by this fact and she now insists that we bring these books with us alongside her little toy characters from the programme that were passed onto her by her cousin who had grew out of them.

      All in all, for the interest and entertainment of my daughter when out and about these are good books. They are small enough to pop into your handbag, you can keep them in the little bookcase they come in or take them out to carry separately. The storylines are basic (if that) and I wouldn't say they are educational, however, they appeal to my daughter and at £3 for the six little books, I can't really complain too much. They serve the purpose they were bought for.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Book Series: In the Night Garden

Products you might be interested in